We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 Silhavy Rd, Valparaiso, IN 46385   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great renovation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and just remember it as a run-of-the-mill Holiday Inn Express. This time, however, I was very impressed with the full renovation the hotel has undergone. I would have never guessed that it has been in the IHG portfolio for a long time as they really renovated rooms to the brand standard.

As a platinum guest, I was upgraded to a great suite which was greatly appreciated. The staff was consistently friendly and were very willing to grant a late checkout to me.

This is definitely one of the nicest hotels in the Porter County area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the generous compliment! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to the Valparaiso area. Your feedback means a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
12
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisholm, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you are using Siri to find it, make sure you are heading South, not North as Siri directs you. It looks like it's down a dead end road, but it curves around.
The accommodations are standard--as with all HIE. Nice decor, fairly new hotel. Thin walls though. Not sure if it was just my room, but I got woken up at 5:00am by the next door neighbor's 'morning wake up' call from the front desk. It was so loud, I thought it was my own phone. I could hear the guy next door coughing, as if he was in the same room.
Nice place, nice price, but if you like it really quiet --ask for a room with nobody around it.

Excellent location if traveling via freeway, or to Kouts

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't near anyone. thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear sasha a,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked our excellent hotel location and facilities. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am very sorry about the noise and quality of comfort you experienced in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel monthly for over two years. It's located near Valparaiso University on Route 30. It's also near the intersection with Route 49 which makes the hotel very accessible. There are nice restaurants nearby like Kellsey's and Industrial Revolution which are only a few minutes away. The hotel is basic, it's clean and comfortable but nothing memorable. The free breakfast buffet is pretty standard for the Holliday Inn Express chain which includes cereals, cinnamon rolls, bagels, eggs, sausage or bacon, waffles and yoghurt among other items. Again, nothing fancy but gets the job done. The beds are comfortable and new, the sheets are clean. The tv's are all flatscreen and HD but I have yet to see the HD working. I have never tried the pool but the small gym has two treadmills one of which hasn't been working for the last few months, and one stationary bike. There are no free weights. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped. I have never had any plumbing issues, hot water is always available. Even though the hotel is located near a busy highway, noise has never been an issue. For the price, it's a great choice if you need to stay in this part of Indiana.

Room Tip: I prefer the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice place to stay - room was very comfortable and the bed was very comfy. Wonderful place for a family - pool to keep the kids busy and nice breakfast - great for a family budget!! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place to stay. I always stay here when I am in the area. The only negatives this stay include: poorly working air conditioner and no ice on my floor. The staff was super friendly and the hotel is clean, and I am extremely picky on cleanliness.

Room Tip: I always choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Hotel is nicely situated away from noise and close to everything. Weight room has limited equipment. Nice size swimming pool and hot tub. Very friendly and helpful staff (especially Katlin).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I’ve stayed here before and love the location (I have business with Valparaiso University and this hotel is very convenient). There are a few things I’ve shared with the management. We’ve played phone tag but I haven’t heard from them again. The hotel is clean. It’s predictable in all the ways that Holiday Inn Express can be predictable. There are a few things, though, that were not up to the brand standards before and some other experiences were frustrating this time. Simple additions would be nice. Lotion and facial tissues that don’t disintegrate when used and more than grape jam and dietetic grape jam at breakfast would be nice. The frustration this time was that I tried to extend my stay but was told by the evening staff that no rooms were available (I knew a middle school basketball tournament and wedding were also at this hotel). I checked on-line and was able to book an additional night. I tried to stay in the same room but had to check out and move down the hall for the final night. I was there for six nights total. I will be back again but I do hope they smooth out the rough edges a bit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but I still prefer rooms on the back of the hotel, away from highway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear EnjoyTravelAlways,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you liked our location and you found our hotel clean. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in our amenities and the breakfast. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso

Address: 1251 Silhavy Rd, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Valparaiso, Indiana. Conveniently located a half-mile from Valparaiso University, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Valparaiso provides easy access to a number of local businesses and exciting attractions. Ideally situated just minutes from downtown Valparaiso, this hotel is in close proximity to some of the city's finest shops and cafes. Travelers of all ages can enjoy an afternoon sunbathing at Lake Michigan in Indiana Dunes State Park, indulging in treats at the Albanese Nut and Candy Outlet, riding the waves at Deep River Waterpark or exploring the Brauer Museum of Art. Business guests can appreciate that corporate offices such as Urschel Laboratories, Emerson Power Transmission and Computer Services Inc. are less than one mile from our Valparaiso, Indiana accommodations. The Porter County Expo Center and various acclaimed golf courses are less than three miles away. Our Valparaiso, IN hotel is also proud to provide a 24-hour business center. During your visit, feel free to take advantage of the hotel's free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. A refreshing indoor pool and hot tub, a well-equipped fitness center and on-site laundry services are also available. Take advantage of our exceptional Valparaiso, IN hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Holiday Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.