We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Kitchen & Bar

Valley Kitchen & Bar
55 Franklin St, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5656
219-531-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner this weekend and the food was absolutely amazing. I had the best pork chop of my life and my husband had the pumpkin succatash. The food is excellent gourmet quality but the atmosphere is more casual which was very nice. I think it's the best food in Valpo. The food is a little pricey but well worth it. Valley and it's fresh products could compete with any Chicago restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porter, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

It sounded interesting. We looked at the menus and read the reviews and decided to make the trip. The website said that they don't accept reservations but when we arrived @ 5:15 we found the whole restaurant RESERVED for a private party. No notice on their website. I guess you have to phone first to find out if they have made an exception to their No Reservations policy.

Maybe we will try it if we find ourselves in the neighborhood but not as a destination. Once burned . . . .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best food in Valpo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had dinner here with my wife and we both were very impressed with the food and service. Great appetizers, and the pork chop was amazing. Clean restrooms and a good atmosphere. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had dinner there last night. I had the spinach salad with candied nuts and thin apple slices. Delicious! Even my husband loved it and he generally doesn't like fruit in his salads. I also had the chicken entree with lemon rice cream. Yummy! The owner /chef came by to see how we liked our meal. We are serious foodies and would go back again. Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in downtown Valparaiso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had been wanting to try Valley for a long time. I work in downtown Valparaiso, but Valley is only open for supper, not lunchtime. I finally got my chance to have supper at Valley a couple weeks ago and the food was fantastic. Most of the menu is locally grown. The atmosphere is laid back and has a country feel. There's a bit of outdoor seating, but we ate inside the restaurant. I will definitely go back. The only downside for me is that it's a bit expensive (more than $10 per entrée).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Valley Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.