We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spoon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Spoon
15 East Lincolnway, Valparaiso, IN 46383
219.242.8035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 119 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great place to have a nice brunch! We have been looking for something that had some more creative breakfast menu items and Silver Spoon defiantly delivered! We've been there a few times for Sunday brunch and they had a piano player there both times. He was a great addition to our meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I love downtown Valpo restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful place in downtown Valpo , right across the street from the courthouse. The food was very good but I must say that the bloody marys were awesome. The atmosphere was great, we were close to the window so we could watch people walk by & our waiter was very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“first timer, that will be returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Today was our first time eating at Silver Spoon. First impression was not good at all, asked my husband if he wanted to go some place else. The hostess-server was extemely hostile and not friendly welcoming at all!!! In this competetive market she should be retrained!!! With that said, she is lucky the food was fantastic!!! Our server, Matt, was very accommodating and attentive. I had french toast & my husband, pancake & eggs. We were extremely happy with our food and will return. Hopefully the hostess-server will be happy to have employment on our return visit!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good but used to be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am torn writing this review of Silver Spoon which I have visited many times since it's opening. I have been there for breakfast and lunch. The menu is creative and well executed but I have started noticing little things that have made me rate it less than excellent. There is a special breakfast I usually order so I know exactly how it should be prepared. On my last visit there, it was made differently, not even recognizable to me as the meal I love. Small things, like packets of jam are slowly making their way to the table whereas before, there was a small jar of homemade jam that tasted like heaven. I've noticed they have also scaled back on portion size which is okay with me but for someone used to having a larger breakfast, this could be a problem. Things are different than before. Perhaps economics is making it so; however, it is always filled and now I notice they are open later. The food is quite different than the regular egg and pancake place but my fear is in time, this too will change. It was those little touches that made it so special in the first place and many of them are now gone. The decor of the restaurant is beautiful and sleek looking and it is bright and inviting. The noise level is tolerable and the service is very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming breakfast/brunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I had the stuffed French toast and my husband had the morning remedy. My breakfast was very good. The brioche bread was very good--maybe a little soggy--but still good. My husband reported his breakfast was delicious. Coffee was very good too. Service was attentive. I did have to ask for sugar for my coffee but that was remedied quickly. I would eat here again. We sat outside and it was a very pleasant experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Spoon also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.