We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meditrina

Meditrina
24 N. Washington, Valparaiso, IN
219-707-5271
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I had dinner at Meditrina for the first time last weekend. It was superb! The restaurant is tiny and eclectic. The aromas when we walked in the door had us practically drooling before we were even seated! Our server was very knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Where to start about the food? Every bit was scrumptious. We started out with the cheese platter, which was the special appetizer of the night. A variety of superb cheeses, plus sliced salami, dates, gold raisins and warm, crispy slices of bread were beautifully presented on a bed of baby spinach leaves. We both enjoyed a cup of yummy lentil soup. My date ordered the Kefta Combo Platter and loved the variety of Middle Eastern treats. I ordered the Pomegranate Steak and it was heavenly! The steak was perfectly done, and the pomegranate reduction was a wonderful accompaniment to the beef. It was served with some delicious herbed rice and fresh green beans which were cooked to perfection. All of the ingredients were fresh, and everything we tasted was absolutely delicious. I'm so anxious to return to Meditrina that I already have plans to dine there with a friend this week. I cannot say enough good things about this hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No question, best in Valpo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

If there’s better, fresher restaurant food in Valparaiso, we don’t know of it. Traditional Middle Eastern dishes are perfectly prepared and garnished. Daily specials and pita-style pizzas are interesting and show some creativity. House wines are very good. All the food we’ve tried is reliably fresh and delicious. Service is friendly although the space is tight. This little restaurant is a local treasure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A touch of the city in Valpo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We love the food and ambiance of Medtrina. The service is always friendly and good. It's much like a good restaurant one would find in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we looked up highly rated restaurants in Valparaiso as I was traveling with two girlfriends & we always like to try a local (non-chain) restaurant in whatever city we are visiting. So came upon reviews for this tiny restaurant in downtown. We read that it was very small so it worked out anyway that we could visit there mid-afternoon. Had two other friends join us so waitress (and some very nice patrons visiting the restaurant at the time shifted over) so we were able to seat the five of us. Enjoyed some great appetizers at the recommendation of our waitress...love the eggplant crostini and the stuffed grape leaves!!). we all then ordered individual entrees from the lunch menu...had specials available as well. Enjoyed my eggplant pizza & the others in my group enjoyed their salads, and wraps. One of our friends is a vegetarian so she really enjoyed having so many choices off of the menu. we had a few hours before our evening event & the waitress let us enjoy sitting at their table for almost an hour after our meal. Again, it was mid-afternoon & we left as the early evening patrons were starting to arrive. Thank you staff for a fun and delicious afternoon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Little Gold Nugget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This tiny restaurant in the heart of downtown Valparaiso serves middle eastern cuisine with a bit of an American influence (the superb Med Burger, for instance). Freshly made and unique flat bread pizza, soups, and specials highlight daily changes to the menu, but great staples - gyro platters, dinner size salads, etc. are all excellent and loaded with flavor. A small but reasonably priced list of good wine, including a wonderfully dry red wine from Lebanon, and good selection of craft beers round out the fare. Even if you have no room for desert, take a serving of the home made baklava home. Just too good to pass up.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meditrina also viewed

 

Been to Meditrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meditrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.