We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meditrina made a baklava lover out of me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meditrina

Meditrina
24 N. Washington, Valparaiso, IN
219-707-5271
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Meditrina made a baklava lover out of me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

On a business trip to Valpo I suggested Meditrina to a colleague for dinner. I found the restaurant here on trip advisor and since I love Mediterranean food thought it sounded great. I ordered one of the specials for the evening and my colleague tried some of the small plates. Everything was delicious and the wine list interesting. Our waitress did a great job of making suggestions for us. I tried the plum wine cooler and it was incredibly refreshing on a summer evening while dining outside. I generally am not a baklava fan but the waitress told us her mother in law makes it so we gave it a whirl. It was perfect. Not to syrupy yet not too dry. This restaurant was a real treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute little place with wonderful Mediterranean food. Their tabbuleh is terrific and their salads are fresh and really good. It was full at 11:45 on a Friday a.m., so very popular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just ate here for the first time and YUM! The food is fresh and the portions of the small plates are perfect for tapas style dining. The menu is pretty large. I look forward to coming back to sample some of the different fare!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Favorite in Valpo! shhhh! save me a seat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This gem of a little dining spot is delightful. Easily the best place in Valpo and perhaps NW Indiana to go, esp. for a couple or a small group. The Restaurant is attended by three sisters who work their ......off and enjoy it!
One is a chef, who knows tapas and mediterranean food well. The wine is part of the experience, and as a red drinker and my wife a white wine drinker, there is alot to choose from, yet you don't have to pay $10 for a glass. In fact, they broadened my wine experience, as many of the wines and grape varieties were not ones I recognized. Ask and they will quickly supply you with a sample when in doubt.
I am certain that others have already commented on this place favorably, esp. the pizza appetizer, which is really good, a bit crunchy and a must-have. 7-spice mussels are to die for.
The lamb stew is really good, whole red snapper, spanokopita, pastas, you name it as they change it around are all really great! Most eastern, Spanish and mediterranean restaurants to me serve bland food and they probably say that we Americans overspice our food. So be it...But, this place does not serve bland food...Every meal will be different, you will sit somewhere different, see a different menu (the faves are still there, so don't worry) and walk away with a little different perspective.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in town doing an antique show, & picked it based on website & reviews!! We were not disappointed!!! Upon entering the quaint establishment~~I knew we had made a great choice.
Everybody looked happy & delighted with their food, & they looked like regulars/Professor types who knew excellent food!! Salmon was from heaven. I live 2 hrs away but I will come back!!!
The owner came out to speak to us, & she is as charming as her place!!!
This is a place worth driving to!!
I am taking my husband there soon!!!
Carol Anne K

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meditrina also viewed

 

Been to Meditrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meditrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.