We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school movie drive in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 49er Drive-In Theatre

49er Drive-In Theatre
675 N. Calumet Ave, Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219-462-6122)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Valparaiso
Attraction details
Portage,Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Old school movie drive in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Great for a weekend night with the kids! Open for a short period during year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Indiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice to still have a Drive In available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

It is a typical Drive In movie theater and that is why we like it. Brings back the good old days, complete with old commercials and the snack bar full of junk. Price is still reasonable since you get two movies and can bring your own food if necessary. Always need to get there early for a 'good spot'.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Old fashioned drive-in theater.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Good ol'e days drive in. Snack bar. Ramped parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Makes watching a movie an event rather than an ordeal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I don't have any kids, but we spend at least a couple nights here every summer. For the price of one movie in a theater, you get two movies you can watch from the comfort of your own car. They still play the old cartoon ads (dancing hotdogs, etc) before the movie and during the intermission. Love that.

Support this place! We lost our Merrillville drive in, let's not lose this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Blast of the Past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Want a 50s drive-in experience? Here it is. Good screen. Decent snack bar. In fact, I didn't see anything that was not exactly like my drive-in experiences 40 years ago. Only complaint- it's expensive! They charge per person, not per car. It costs more than a matinee at a regular theater.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49er Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to 49er Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 49er Drive-In Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.