We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   760 Morthland Drive, Valparaiso, IN 46385   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beach Park, United States
1 review
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I chaperoned a group of college students to a conference in Valparaiso. This was not the conference assigned hotel, but it was the best moderately priced hotel in the area. Hotel staff were extremely attentive and offered to go above and beyond without being asked. For example, when I alerted the staff a pizza would be arriving for our group, the staff member immediately brought out plates and napkins. Room was very clean and spacious. Hotel recently was renovated and it shows. There are many upgraded features. Everything from the shower to the hair dryer were brand new. There is also a small sundry shop and the parking lot shares space with Applebee's. Great experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you Carolyn for your wonderful review. We very much enjoyed hosting your group! We have completed an entire renovation and all of our amenities are in fact brand new. We are pleased that you found us & that the staff was able to assist you in all of your groups needs. I will pass along your great comments as I know the staff will be excited to hear from you! Please stop in to visit again if you are in the Valparaiso area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
15
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for two nights for a conference at the university. They had a very good deal on Expedia, so I went with it, and I'm glad I did. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were very up-to-date and comfortable, and the value for the price was notable. Before this trip, I wasn't that impressed with Best Western, but I'll consider them again after staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! I am so happy that you found our hotel to be of great value. We enjoyed having you as our guest & I am pleased that you have found our brand to be accommodating to your needs. With Best Western, you stay with people who care. I will be sure to pass along your great comments to our staff. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Best staff I have had in years and I stay at alot of hotels [professional referee/umpire] The staff was very helpful starting with directions to the hotel [2 calls] to directions/times to the event at the University...They [especially Shelley [sp] ] were outstanding...Nick

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words & positive review Nick. We do our best to go above and beyond our guests expectations & I am so pleased that we were able to "Wow" you with our professionalism! I will be sure to pass along your great comments to Shelley and the whole team. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I wanted to write a review for this hotel because it was such a nice experience for my husband and I. We decide to go away for valentines weekend and in search of a hotel near by I found Best Western Valparaiso,in and we booked the weekend. The price was right and I knew it had just remodel and opened:-)
What an awsome find! So nice and clean and new:-) The staff was GREAT! They went up and beyond to make our getaway as nice as possible. We had such a nice comfortable and quite room. Again I am not one to write reviews but just felt compelled to share our experience so others could know and have the same kind of experience we did:-)

Room Tip: We always like to be on the top floor. We find it to be a little more quiet.:-) And never count out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words & great review! You were such a delightful couple to have as our guests! Valentines Day is such a great holiday to spend the night away with your loved one & we are so happy that you chose us & we could share your memories. I will pass along your kind words to the staff. Please be sure to pass along the word to any friends or family that you have coming to the area & be sure to stop by & see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, FL, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Was on my way back to Chicago on Business, Was getting late and my flight was not until afternoon the next day So I scoped this hotel out .Very nice clean Hotel and room`s Staff was very helpful , And Applebee`s right across the Parking lot. I like to stay at places that have a restaurant on site or near by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback & review! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! It is definitely a great benefit for us to share our lot with a great restaurant such as Applebees. I will pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Accommodating staff, Beautiful rooms just redone at the end of 2013. Everything was super clean. They even had 'clean remotes' which were designed for keeping clean. Bathrooms nice, showers had glass doors, breakfast nice. Only drawback was being by the road, heard some road noise, but that was a minimal concern. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive response. We are very proud of the successful remodel. We pride ourselves on our "Ultra Clean" environment which inludes the clean remote program. Thank you for noticing! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff. Please stop by again if you are in the area. We loved having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We tried this hotel because it had just been remodeled and was offering a "remodeling discount". Everything was excellent. The rooms were tastefully decorated,beds comfy...everything new and very clean. If I have any reason to return to Valparaiso,IN, I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValpoGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & were able to take advantage of our Grand Opening Special. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our decorating & how comfortable the beds were. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso

Address: 760 Morthland Drive, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated hotel is one and a half miles from Valparaiso University and three miles from Porter County Expo Center and Fairgrounds. This Valparaiso hotel is near the Porter Regional Hospital part of the Porter Healthcare System. With a hometown feel and great architecture you are sure to indulge your senses and sights as the hotel is minutes from downtown shops and eatery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.