We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Terre Haute

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Terre Haute to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Dixie Bee Highway, I-70 & US 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Terre Haute
Olney, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here with family after spending a day at the Parke County IN covered bridge festival. I am a member of their rewards program and took upon that program to receive a better rate. Was I mistaken for a decent motel?? yes by far,,,,,,needs updated in a BAD way, rooms are small and still have double beds in our room.....can we not get at least a full size? Room was dirty, furniture damaged, shower had drywall falling down and the grout in the bathroom was filthy. No exhaust fan and we didn't use the pool since the room was so dirty we weren't taking a chance in the pool. soda machine would not take dollar bills so I had to go to another floor for drinks, and the ice machine was right outside out door so we heard that every time it was being used. How about moving those machines to a neutral corner somewhere?

Positive - free breakfast buffet for 2, front desk staff was courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyInSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
BandSRoadHogs,

We would like to sincerely apologize that your stay fell below your expectations. Holiday Inn Terre Haute utilizes feedback, just like yours, to improve daily. We appreciate your honesty and telling us how we could fix our shortcomings.

We are on the brink of a major renovation. We are excited to share this information with our customers! I hope you are in the area again in the following years of the covered bridge festival to give us another try. Please come see us change and grow!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    26
    19
    22
See reviews for
55
23
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loda, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I travel 140 nights a year. The HI in TH is my home away from home. The facilities are great....but what makes this place so nice is the people. Everyone is so nice and so accomodating. Special requests are no bother. The people here are interested in me as a person, not just as a number. I try to structure my work week to stay here as much as I can.

Here are some of the great things about the facility...microwave, refrigerator and flat screen in the rooms. NFL, BTN, NBA and 5 ESPN's on the cable system. Kick-butt coffee in the lobby. Great hot tub/whirlpool. Nice breakfast, especially on the weekends. Plenty of water pressure in the shower. The most comfortable beds. Local and national newspapers furnished. Great pool, ping pong and game room if you have children. A nice lounge if you are so inclined.

I love this place and the people ...attaboy/attagirl to the HI TH...my home away from home!

Room Tip: Join the priority club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyInSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
dennis w,

WOW! Thank you for the stellar review!

We are so pleased to see that our hard work does not go unnoticed! I appreciate your comments! I can't wait to share them with our staff! Positive feedback is utilized at Holiday Inn Terre Haute on a regular basis. Your words will motivate our staff beyond belief!

Thanks again for being a magnificent advocate of Holiday Inn Terre Haute!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little bit older than most but still in good shape. The lobby area includes the bar, a little restaurant and a place to sit and watch the pool. The only trouble I had was with the air conditioning in the room which had to be set at 60° in order to keep the room at 70°. I told the staff and they said they were aware of the problem and are trying to fix it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyInSales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
TheTimMan,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Holiday Inn Terre Haute uses the information to improve our staff and facilities. Guest feedback plays a large role in our hotel’s continuous success.

When I read your review, I noticed that you had problems with your air/heating unit. I would like to assure you that maintenance has been diligently working in the guestrooms to try and improve the quality of the units. We are truly sorry that the performance of the unit in your room fell below standard during your stay. I have communicated your comments to our Chief Engineer. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here one night for pleasure and found the hotel although dated to be a nice place. i really reccomend for families. The pool area is very nice and has alot to do including a restruant and a bar. I think this hotel needs an update badly and if I was on business and paid more you might expect a negative review. I needed cheap and it really was.

Room Tip: get a pool side room if your with the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ryannkc,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was. I would also recommend a pool side room for families traveling with young ones. There is plenty to keep them occupied in our pool, and play areas!
I would also like to let you know, that we are in fact going to be going through some renovations in the next 2 years, and would love to have you back on either business or leisure. If you see that you have an upcoming event or travel plans, please contact me directly at:812-543-9412.

Thank you again,
Trish Wible
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed as one of the stops on a road trip. Doesn't look like much from the outside but the inside was very nice. Very kid friendly with an arcade area and pool area. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Parking is hard to find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the Holiday Inn-Terre Haute. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

We appreciate comments from our guests, both positive and negative, as we take these comments very seriously and strive each and every day to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, I agree that our pool and game area is a great place not only for children, but the whole family to enjoy.

We look forward to exceeding your lodging needs in the future.

Thank you,
Trish Wible
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here midweek forb$48 bucks for a queen. Rooms were fine, bar service was terrible... When Sandy the bar maid skowles at you every time she has to do something you start to wonder about it.... this place was remodeled and is ok, room was clean and didnt smell.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear skidoo44,

I want to first thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to get any and all feedback, positive or negative, it gives us an idea of our guests perspective, as well as opportunities to help improve guest satisfaction.
I was happy to read that your room and the amenities were fine. I will pass along your information regarding your bartender to the General Manager. Any thing that we can do, to better serve our guests, and to improve their experience during their stay is important to us here at the Holiday Inn - Terre Haute.

Thank you for your time,
Trish Wible
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is my first ever review of a hotel online, because I rarely have great experiences; I stayed at the Holiday Inn Terre Haute for two nights after traveling all the way from Long Beach. I arrived around 1am and the front desk clerk (Zack) was as helpful as could be. He had a great sense of humor and really seemed to care about my requests (very rare in staff who work those hours). I told him I needed a quiet room to rest in for two nights as I was traveling to St. Louis after checking out. He put me on the 5th floor "tower." It was extremely quiet on this level. I stay at many hotels and have not had many beds as comfortable as that one. The room was extremely clean, the housekeeper did a wonderful job. I came down around 5am the same morning and was greeted by Zack again, he even asked me how everything was and if I had slept well. I asked if he had any razors and he cracked another joke after grabbing one for me. He even recommended a great steak house (Stables's, which is worth the short drive!) while we were having a conversation. After cleaning up I went down again a few hours later and was greeted by Brittney, she was also very charming and helpful when I asked how late the pool and weight room was open. The rec area is stunning. Pool table, video games, swimming pool, hot tub, workout room--even a baby grand piano (I bet rooms in this area would be noisy). I was not expecting a great workout room, but I was surprised by how much professional equipment it had. I dont understand why this great hotel has so many bad reviews. My only complaints are that they do not slide newspapers under the doors every morning, and that the saunas are no longer in service. Other than that I would like to applaud the extremely helpful staff, especially an awesome guy named Zack, for making my unexpected trip to this hotel a great one.

Room Tip: Request to be on the 5th floor tower for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear LongBeach1985,

Thank you for recent correspondence regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Terre Haute. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us.

I was very pleased to share your comments with our staff. All feedback that we receive from our guest helps us to achieve our goal of providing outstanding service. It is rewarding as well as reinforcing to our staff when a guest receives great service and takes the time to say so. I have posted your compliments in our office, so that Brittany and Zack receive the praise that they deserve for doing such a great job.

Thank you,
Trish Wible
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Terre Haute

Address: 3300 Dixie Bee Highway, I-70 & US 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Terre Haute 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Terre Haute the place for all reasons, all seasons. Conveniently located at the Crossroads of America, I-70 and US 41 South, Holiday Inn Terre Haute is 1 hour west of Indianapolis and 3 hours east of St. Louis. As the area s only full service hotel, we offer 230 guestrooms with free wireless high speed Internet access. The Sycamore Grove, serves breakfast daily, and dinner on weekends. Renowned for its upscale menu and impeccable service, The Apple Club serves lunch and dinner. Our lounge features Live Entertainment on Fri - Sat evenings. Enjoy our indoor recreation center with a pool/whirlpool, sauna, games and fitness center.Whether traveling on business or pleasure, The Holiday Inn Terre Haute is ideal; located near Sony/DADC, Ampacet, Columbia House, Bemis, AET, Thyssen Krupp Presta, Unison EC, Rose Hulman, ISU, and St. Mary of the Woods. We re just a short distance from Clabber Girl Museum, Swope Art Gallery, Honey Creek Square Mall and Wabash Valley Family Sports Center. Our location is ideal for the area's special events: Covered Bridge Festival, Indy 500 and Brickyard 400 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Terre Haute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.