We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious desk clerks; Room, not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute

Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute to your Saves list
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Highway 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gracious desk clerks; Room, not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

As another reviewer said, "If you need a place to sleep..." We stayed two nights in February while visiting family in town. The room was pretty clean until I noticed the wall next to the inside bed was very obviously dirty; dingy with splash marks... All I could think was, "you're making a bed that is two feet from the wall; how do you not notice this?" I asked the front desk to have the housekeeper or head housekeeper look into it and they did; they also credited my bill with a "cleanliness" refund automatically. Except for the great front desk clerks, this place is pretty average and, "if you need a place to sleep," it works.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent hotel visit.
We always appreciate guest feedback, as we use your comments to help improve our product and services. Please accept my sincere apology that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations. We have extensive procedures in place to make sure that each room is cleaned for the next guest and it is obvious we did not follow them. Your comments have already helped us address the issues you brought to our attention so we can improve our attention to detail and overall guest service. You are important to us and we look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Mason Peck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
33
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This facility is exceptionally neat and clean and the staff could not be nicer. The rooms are nicely decorated and have that home away from home feeling. Texas Roadhouse and Bob Evans are across the street and shopping is nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 and our total for 2 including tax was only $67.19. We have paid much more for far less. This place gets excellent for value. It was clean and located just off I-70 and very easy to get to and then back on the interstate. It is located on Highway 41 which means there are a lot of gas stations and fast food places nearby. The room was clean and there wasn't anything about the place we didn't like except the slow elevator. We would definitely stay here again if in Terre Haute.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Pear Tree Inn in Terre Haute, Indiana was a ok place to stay.
The bathroom was so small you couldn't shut the door. The only reason to stay here is that you are tired or the weather is bad and you need a place to crash. It is right off I70 and easy to find. There are good restaurants around and a mall. This is not a let's take a vacation hotel. It is, at best, a stop and Go hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Staff is incredible. Went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. When Angela found out I was traveling with two kids, she provided us with a room close to the elevators that was designed to be a bit bigger than the standard.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This moderately priced hotel accepted small dogs, which is why we picked it. The room was quite clean, but the bed and pillows were uncomfortable andtheTV was old style.great desk clerk named Matt. Adequate boring breakfast in small dining area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for being our valued guest and for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent hotel visit at our Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute. We value your feedback, as we use your comments to help improve our product and services. Our team mission is to exceed the expectations of each and every guest. Please accept my sincere apology, as it seems we may have not met your expectations.

You remain important to us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs the next time you are in the area. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Mason Peck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Clean & restful for $60 a night. Breakfast was pedestrian at best ... and in a crowded area ... but serviceable. The hotel was nearly empty the night I stayed. It was kind of eerie because I had to go to the second floor for ice. I wasn't quite sure if this was the twilight zone or not! However all in all I would recommend this hotel for a nice short stay for the traveler. I did have to kill one spider in the room, but that was not indicative of the quality of the room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute

Address: 3050 Highway 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off I-70, this Indiana city is more than a fuel stop. Terre Haute is full of museums, art galleries and home to Indiana State University. Pear Tree Inn offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free breakfast. We serve free continental breakfast, which includes pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Enjoy a refreshing drink to end your day with free drinks from 5:30 to 7 pm. Pear Tree Inn also offers free wireless Internet and free long distance calls ensuring you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.