We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pear Tree Inn to the rescue!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute

Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute to your Saves list
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Highway 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pear Tree Inn to the rescue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Last minute I decided to drive to Marshall, Illinois with my boys. We decided not to stay at the hotels located there and drove to Terre Haute to find something more suited for us. To our dismay, all the hotels to our liking were booked due to several sporting
events in the area. I was getting a bit frustrated having been awake for 24 hours. We decided to check out Pear Tree Inn and they did in fact have a room and we received it for a great price. The room was clean. Matt at the front desk was wonderful! Very knowledgable, friendly, and helpful to our needs. The tv in the room was older and made a small noise for awhile and I would have preferred a hotel with a pool, but with the circumstances, I was pleased! Breakfast was alright. Small amount of seating available, but we were up so early, that it didn't really effect us. So thank you Pear Tree Inn for your accommodations!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
33
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an older hotel...however it was very quiet! The bed was very comfortable and the pillow was great. The bathroom could really use an update, but was clean & functional. The entire hotel was very clean. Breakfast this morning was usual fare. We would stay here again. Friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Price is reasonable for what you get. Room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfortable. Shower head was low, but worked okay. We only stayed one night as we were passing through. Breakfast provided was a little better than most continental breakfasts. They had biscuits and gravy and yogurt and fruit, which most places don't have. Lady in the breakfast room was VERY friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We always stay on the upper floor to avoid overhead noise. This place does have an elevator. One s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed friendly service during breakfast. Our goal is to exceed your expectations, and it seems our hotel may have fallen short. Our facility is not new, however, our team takes care and pride in their service and property maintenance.

I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area... we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Mason Peck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was right near the highway 70. My husband and I spent a few nights at the Drury last year and we did not expect this hotel to be as nice as the Drury but we felt it was not a bad hotel. We were traveling across the country and needed a place to sleep with two adults and two large dogs. Two large dogs had a place to sleep so that was not a problem. The bathroom was pretty small. The breakfast area was very small and we would have to go to a different room to get coffee or waffle. We all did sleep well.

In my opinion, it’s a good place to sleep if you’re traveling and need a place to sleep. I’d prefer to stay at the Drury if I’m staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel. It's not as nice as a Drury hotel, but the room was nice and clean. It was a large and comfy room, but the bathroom was tiny. If you are really in to a free breakfast at a hotel, you will not appreciate what Pear Tree has to offer. The breakfast area is very small. If more than 2 other people are having breakfast, you will feel packed in like a sardine. Very uncomfortable. My first morning, a Saturday, there were so many trying to eat breakfast that I just said forget this. My last morning was a Monday, and there was nobody else around, so I had breakfast before my long drive. A very basic continental breakfast, but I was happy to see the name brand cereals and not the cheap generic ones. The staff was very friendly. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent hotel visit. We value your feedback and certainly appreciate your patronage. Please accept my sincere apology if we did not meet your expectations. You remain important to us, and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Mason Peck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I attended Rose-Hulman homecoming and were going to stay at the Hampton across the street, but some mix-up in reservations and we lost our room. Called Drury who had their sister hotel next door. It was reasonably clean, a bit dated, staff was friendly (front desk attendant was excellent), and decent for the money. It's not a Hampton but for the money I gave it a four. Only negative was slight musty smell that my wife detected in the room which went away when we put on the A/C. Nothing special but good value for the money. Would certainly stay there again if Hampton was not available.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Interstate, which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and thoughts on your hotel experience. Our team's mission is to always meet the needs of our guests while exceeding their expectations. If your lodging experience was not up to your expectations, we truly apologize. We are reviewing and acting in a proactive manner to alleviate any guest room odors. You remain important to us and we certainly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A bit dated. Somewhat indifferent staff. Limited breakfast area. We enjoy this Little Drury chain but this one doesn't hit the mark. Doesn't sparkle like others it's ok but just ok. Lots of other choices in town that are just as good and less $$$$$$.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We always appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to always meet the needs and exceed the expectations of our guests. Please accept my sincere apology that you feel your personal experience was not what you feel you have received in the past. As you know, Pear Tree Inn by Drury is our brand for price-conscious travelers and offers an expanded free continental breakfast; you may have had the free Hot Breakfast at a Drury Inn & Suites hotel, for example. I hope you will give us another chance. We look forward to your return and would love to have you as our guest again.

Mason Peck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute

Address: 3050 Highway 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off I-70, this Indiana city is more than a fuel stop. Terre Haute is full of museums, art galleries and home to Indiana State University. Pear Tree Inn offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free breakfast. We serve free continental breakfast, which includes pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Enjoy a refreshing drink to end your day with free drinks from 5:30 to 7 pm. Pear Tree Inn also offers free wireless Internet and free long distance calls ensuring you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.