We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in Terre Haute, IN.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saratoga

The Saratoga
431 Wabash Ave., Terre Haute, IN 47802
812 234-1161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 186 restaurants in Terre Haute
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bargersville, In
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Terre Haute, IN.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Saratoga is a bar-restaurant in downtown Terre Haute, In. that offers an above average menu and is patronized by me for their kibbe(yum, yum). Parking on street and in lot behind restaurant. Dining area is pleasant and the staff is friendly and efficient. I've been patronizing for several years now and have always found it a reasonably priced and enjoyable dining experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    12
    22
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GlobalComm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regular Midwestern comfort food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Regular Midwestern comfort food. Known for their pork tenderloin sandwiches (ho, hum), and used to be known for their reuben sandwiches, but they lost quality over the years and now are not even on menu except for a reuben panini (not very good).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terre Haute Institution with limited hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A Terre Haute Institution, The Saratoga does a large lunch trade and is open for dinner Thurs-Sat. Go for the prime rib and don't miss the scrumptious and ample desserts--all homemade.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old time charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good food, prompt waiters, love the owner. There seems to be a connection with the owner and most of his patrons. I know I am 65 years old and my dad use to go there when he was living in Terre Haute. The only problem I have is that it is downtown and I don't go down there much any more. But when I do, I usually eat here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great food. Great service. You can't ask for more! They serve a black bean burger that is excellent. Their vegetable soup is meat free and yummy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saratoga also viewed

Terre Haute, IN
Terre Haute, IN
 

Been to The Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saratoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.