We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terre Haute Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Moggers Restaurant and Pub

M Moggers Restaurant and Pub
908 Poplar St, Terre Haute, IN 47807
812.234.9202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 192 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Terre Haute Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Moggers is a low key restaurant and bar. It's not for the high-maintenanced. I must admit I come for the beer (impressive list), but if you are wanting to eat, I would still recommend sitting in the bar, where the ceilings are lofted and green stained glass shines down onto tables. Dark wood, brick floor, this place has significant history to the city of Terre Haute as it is located in the old brewing district. The bread pudding is pretty phenomenal. The summer time offers a lovely beer garden. Beauty lies in the eyes if the beholder and to me, this place is a gem.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    61
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This isnt just your run of the mill pub with pub food. This place has a large seating area, 2 floors. It also has a bar section, if you are into that.

It has over 100 beer selections and the food is great. You can get tradition sandwhiches to marinated chicken, steak, gourment salads.

If you dare, try the horseshoe sandwhich!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Allow 3 hours or more for dinner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived for dinner at 5:20. We had a party of 6 and were seated right away in a small room with blue flowered wallpaper. The main restaurant area is really cool but the room we in was dated. There was what appeared to be ketchup or bbq sauce splatters all over the wall I was seated by which was rather disgusting. We told our server that we needed to leave for a concert at 7:30 and she said she would try to make sure everything went quickly. The salads came out quickly and were very good. But then our server never returned. At 7:07, nearly 2 hours later I hadnt seen our server. So I went to the hostess stand, explained that wr were out of time, and could we please get a bill for our salad and drinks so we could leave, we now didn't have time to eat. She said she would tell our server. 10 minutes later (7:17) we finally left $40 on the table to cover what we had received and left. That was the first time any of us have ever had to do any thing like that and hopefully the last time we ever spend 2 hours waiting on food without our server even having the courtesy to tell us what is going on. The staff knew we were in a hurry, made us think we would have plenty of time and never bothered to acknowledge us again. I rated the food as poor based on the fact that we never received it but the salad was very good. Such a shame as it truly is an amazing building if you aren't stuck in the weird dirty room out front. I rated atmosphere as average because of the poor cleanliness and design of the room we were seated in but the other areas were much nicer. Also, I should mention that it was a Thursday evening and the place was not packed from what we could tell when we walked through to use the bathroom, so we are not sure why we didn't see our server again or what was taking so long.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
“good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

love the beer- good specials, good food. can bring the family because the atmosphere is friendly. some servers are rude and dont care about helping you but for the most part it is enjoyable

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalComm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good collection of bottled beer, but food is absolutely terrible. Setting is somewhat rustic. Only okay because of absence of serious competition in town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Moggers Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
 

Been to M Moggers Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Moggers Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.