We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Steakhouse

Stables Steakhouse
939 Poplar St, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3725
812-232-6677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 189 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good but pricy. I enjoy going to events here like wedding receptions and parties. The upstairs is very nice for it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The service was very good, we were a large party and the server did a great job of managing all of us. The halibut was excellent and the giant serving of bread pudding was delicious. I took part of it back to my hotel for breakfast the next morning. First time visitor and hopefully I'll get back there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced for poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For the price of the food, one would expect excellent service and wonderful food. Based on my 2 visits here, this has not been the case. The service and atmosphere are OK. In my opinion, the food is not worth the cost. The steak was ok, however the mashed potatoes were extremely dry. The salad was also disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just imagine calling your favorite restaurant on a Saturday night for reservations at the last minute AND asking for a specific table. The response...I don't like to say 'No." Stables consistently delivers on service as well as offering great food. They were at capacity since many high school seniors were there with their pre-prom dates. Yes, it is that kind of place for very, very special memorable nights. Families. couples, business diners enjoy this restaurant.

The spinach salad is incredible as are the steaks. I haven't tried their other main-course offerings, but our daughter loves the shrimp pasta and creme brulee. The artichoke and spinach appetizer is also very good.

The reason for the name is that the building used to house the horses which were used to pull the beer wagons. Terre Haute used to brew Champaign Velvet beer.

If you are looking for a special place to celebrate or just have an fantastic meal, Stables is always our choice. Just be prepared to pay for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All in all a cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you enjoy history at all you'll have a pleasant time here. The steak is great, the service good. A bit pricey, but if you want to combine antiquing with a good dinner, this is a great choice--there's an antique mall very close.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stables Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.