We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff, clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Terre Haute to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, IN 47807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Terre Haute
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Super staff, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My overall choice when staying in Terre Haute. The staff is great and do what ever they need to make sure your stay is above average. The property is unique in that it is a converted building and that gives it some charm. Rooms are clean. Watch out for the elevator on the left, its kind of tempermental and took us up and down a few times before the door would open. Staff called right away and someone was fixing it that night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Candlewood Suites, Terre Haute. We appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay. Every member of our team makes it their priority to provide exceptional customer service to every person who walks through our doors. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to be included in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
16
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a career fair at nearby Indiana State University. Arrived late, had no problems checking in, and used none of the facilities. Room was nice size, with nice furnishings. Very tall ceilings as it's an old building, which made the room feel even bigger. Had two double beds, and I really prefer queens, but I was solo, so no worries. The lack of breakfast is kind of a pain, and the only coffee was the coffee maker in the room. I never use those as you have no idea whether it is clean or not. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Candlewood Suites, Terre Haute. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of this property with its unique historical structure. The property was originally built 1912, and was renovated and converted to a hotel in 2008. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is directly across from the Hilton Garden Inn where I prefer to stay but Candlewood was half the price......knowing the experience I had I should have paid the extra $100. Candlewood is a clean/nice hotel. Check in was easy. Quick and friendly staff. However, the noise in the hallways didnt quit until around 3:30 AM!!!

Needless to say I could have stayed on ISU campus in my college students dorm and probably had slept better or the same.

Candlewood has leased out some of there rooms to the ISU campus to due over crowding......so we had the late night party goer's up and down the halls giggling, talking and drinking.

You can try this location if you wish....just maybe ask for a floor NOT occupied by college kids.

I didnt see a restaurant or even a place to have a drink to watch football.....oh well Hilton next time.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a floor not occupied by resident college students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I'm terribly sorry for the incovenience during you stay. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention, we have made adjustments to ensure every guest has a great stay at the Candlewood. The Candlewood Suites of Terre Haute does not act as overflow housing for any School or University at this time. Again I'm terribly sorry for the problem you experienced during your stay and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things even better at the Candlewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We in town and had booked a room at the hotel to use as a hospitality suite for our employees and customers in conjunction with a nearby Bluesfest. During early afternoon of the event I was notified that due to mechanical issues our room would not be available. We were offered another room and the use of their conference room which worked out better than we had planned. Emily handled the whole situation in a very pleasant and professional manner.

Although we have not stayed there we have several travelers a year through here and we route them all to Candlewood and they come away impressed. Now I can see why. Candlewood has done a fantastic job with the old Tribune Building and the hospitality is above and beyond. A great place to park the car and stay in downtown Terre Haute as there is a lot to do and nothing is much more than a five minute walk. Candlewood and great Hoosier hsopitality are right in the middle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south east might be a little more quiet and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I do apologize for the initial inconvenience, but I'm happy to hear Emily rose to the occasion. We pride ourselves in doing whatever it takes to meet the needs of Guests. Our Historic Building and Central location is a win win for anyone visiting Terre Haute and I'm very happy you were able to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms were nice and clean and staff was courteous and helpful. General manager is down to earth and willing to help out in anyway to make your stay more enjoyable. Staff cleans your room once a week which I prefer rather then dealing with them daily. Lot of college kids here, but none were ever loud enough to hear in our room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your Review, we strive to make make every guests experience as good as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This is easily the best hotel in town. Between the location, cleanliness, customer service, and getting to know the new manager......I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. I recommend staying here. I have just about everyone I know that travels this area about my experience and I am even trying to make this our businesses place to stay while any of us are in town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for spreading the word about our property. We pride ourselves in being a home away from home for business travelers. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Incredibly clean rooms, the cookouts with Jessi and Tonya were a lot of fun and they made our stay very enjoyable. Will be back again for business. Jessi was very hospitable and my stay was perfect. Will be back anAytime in town on business for primecoat. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Address: 721 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, IN 47807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Romantic Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.