We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tell City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tell City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tell City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Orchard Hill Drive, Tell City, IN 47586   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tell City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tell City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you find yourself in Tell City, I would recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. We were in town with our entire family for a wedding. The family took up most of the 2nd floor and I didn't hear a complaint about the hotel from anyone. I also enjoyed the breakfast offering.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tell City, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice 4 star review! We are thrilled to hear and that you as well as your family were so pleased with your stay here with us! We hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Best Regards,
Stella Y
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
4
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grace, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

First there were ants on the bathroom floor. Second the towels stunk like chemicals. Third when I'm on vacation i do not appreciate the housekeeper beating on my door at 8 a.m.. They were vacuuming the hallway outside my room since I wouldn't let them in. They knew I was there so what were they going to do clean around me. I complained at the front desk (after I called and complained as well) and when I returned to my room the curtains wouldn't close and my phone no longer worked! the room was suppose to be handicap accessible, Only thing they had when I checked in, But there was no extra wide bathroom door and it would of been impossible to get a wheelchair in that size room with 2 beds.

Room Tip: there is not a decent hotel in Tell City Indiana
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tell City, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear KevinLori F,
We are very sorry for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. Unfortunately, our housekeeping staff is required to knock on all doors that do not have a do not disturb sign on them. I will make sure that I speak with the housekeeping and maintenance personnel to see what we can do to resolve this issues. We do appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.
We do greatly apologize and hope that on your next trip to our area that you would consider staying here with us again and give us the opportunity to make your next stay a much more pleasant one.

Sincerely,
Stella Y
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Entrance to hotel very nice and clean. Met at the desk by very pleasant and helpful staff member. Room was very nice and clean. Plenty of room for 4 in a room. Pool was very nice a little warm but prefer that to ice cold! Good breakfast buffet.. very nice hotel at an affordable price. Would recommend this hotel to anyone... especially if you are traveling to Holiday World just a short distance away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I greatly appreciate that the hotel extended the breakfast hours earlier to accomodate those of us that had to leave early to go to the mill. The hotel was completely full during my stay but breakfast was always well stocked. The front desk staff was excellent. When I first arrived, the room I was given smelled strongly of smoke. I went downstairs to inform them and I was promptly given another room. The new room was a large king suite and had a refrigerator and microwave in the little kitchenette.

The housekeeping staff that took care of the room on Wednesday was not as good as whoever prepped the room for me on Tuesday and took care of the cleaning on Friday. The Wed person did not take all of the dirty towels and put things into place haphazardly. They also didn't take all the trash.

I stayed Aug 20-24.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Starting out from the lobby, the cleaniless and shiny floors stood out. The staff was very curteous and friendly. This is a very well maintained facility unlike others in the area. Good breakfast options, great location, near by restaurants and grocery stores. I am staying a king suite so lots of room to move about. Good size refrigerator with a small covered freezer section. A nice microwave, with cabinets for storage. Always clean and fresh when I come back to the room. Indoor pool warm, and well kept area. Pool towels are at the front desk though so slightly inconvinient. If you are in Tell City, this is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor close to the exit are very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tell City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
August 1, 2013

Dear Sadia M.
Thanks so much for the positive comments about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Tell City. We are glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast and that you found our location convenient for shopping. Also that the room did accomdate all your needs. We do apologize for the inconvenience for the pool towels.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Regards,

Anil Chaudhari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel!
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great service, and the breakfast was delicious!
Staff was polite and quick with service. And very helpful.
The room and public areas were clean and neat. The bathroom in the room was close to immaculate and the towels were amazingly soft.
The continental breakfast was a big surprise! It included a variety of yogurts and cereals, hard boiled eggs, milks and juices, cinnamon rolls, biscuits, scrambled eggs, BACON, muffins, a variety of breads to toast with jellies and peanut butter, a variety of bagels with cream cheese, bananas, oatmeal, coffee, and a make your own pancake machine. (you pushed a button for how many you wanted and it cooked on a conveyor belt system and dropped onto your waiting plate). They had trays available so you could eat in your rooms.
We will definitely be staying in here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tell City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
August 31, 2013

Dear Sabrina C, thanks for taking the time to share your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Tell City. We're glad you liked everything about our hotel, although that's how we think of ourselves. We're glad we could deliver a worry free stay so you could concentrate on your trip.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Tell City.

Sincerely,

Anil Chaudhari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I always stay at HIE when traveling, as I know what to expect and I have always had a good experience staying at any HIE hotel. We stayed here while on a recent trip to Holiday World. The room was clean and comfy, I was just disappointed there was not a refrigerator in our room, that's the first time I have not had one in a room from HIE, but that's a minor detail. We did have some noisy neighbors, a large group that kept slamming their door and talking loudy in the hallway, for about an hour, but thankfully it stopped, but that is not the hotel's fault. Over all we had a great stay and would definitely stay here, again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tell City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tell City, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking precious time for writing us a great review, we you love to see you back next year for another great summer vaction.

Sincerely,

Amanda R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tell City

Address: 310 Orchard Hill Drive, Tell City, IN 47586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Tell City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tell City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tell City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tell City is centrally located to all area industry, retail businesses and restaurants. Business center and convenience store on premise. We are 20 miles to Holiday World, Hoosier Natl. Forest and I-64. Nearby you can find championship golf courses. Weekend and weekly rates are available. We offer suites with full kitchenettes, including 4 Executive Suites. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Tell City, IN and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tell City Hotel Tell City
Holiday Inn Tell City
Tell City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tell City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.