We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, go there if you want to feel in holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach to your Saves list
The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach
Playa Donaires S.N., Palomino 40007, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, go there if you want to feel in holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a few nights and we didn't want to leave. After some fairly though travelling and rustic place it was nice to have all the holiday comforts: spacious rooms with good matresses and very decent showers. The swimming pool was great and you can meet lots of people there. Every night they have happy hours and there is a kind of a party, everything far away from the rooms.
Food: delicious! Try the pizza, is great and also the rest.. Overall it has been a great experience and the price for dorms are not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
32
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 incredibly relaxing nights at the Dreamer.

Palomino itself is clean, small and beautiful with endless miles of deserted beachfront. Get there before the masses make it another Taganga! Sitting on the beachfront watching a crimson orange sunset with beer in hand with only a few others about - unforgettable!

I had heard that the beach itself was dangerous with rips and rough surf but it was very calm during our stay. This allowed us to flit between the ocean and the hostel's pool for regular swims. The pool was a little cloudy on our first day (nothing so bad to deter us from swimming!) but crystal clear the second - suggesting they may need to be a little more consistent with their chlorine.

The hostel is actually set 20 meters back from the beach. There are other absolute beachfront options including one with a pool - but the Dreamer exceeded all of them in terms of room quality and common facilities (pool, excellent common chill out space). There is a direct path from the hostel to the beach - a 1 minute amble. It's nothing.

We stayed in a double with private ensuite which was huge, very clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay - a lot of power points, towels included, a large cupboard that could secure valuables (with your own padlock) and hotel style soap/toiletries in the bathroom. No air-con but the room was comfortably cool with the fan and luscious green surrounds. The garden surrounds are picturesque. Each room has its own verandah with table & chairs and (most importantly) hammock.

At night after dinner we hung out in the large common space centered around the bar. The common space is the perfect chill out zone - hammocks, large tables, lounging spots adorned with pillows and cool lighting. Excellent vibe. Also a large flat screen TV with cable which was great to catch Colombia win a World Cup qualifier! There was no functioning wi-fi during our stay - but it's the kind of place you want to go to unplug.

The bar was great for beers and 2-for-1 happy hour cocktails (awesome mango daiquiri!) but not fully stocked (i.e. no soda for vodka sodas or wine).

There is a wood BBQ but no kitchen facilities for guest use so do not come if you prefer to be self sufficient. The food here is good - if not a touch overpriced (which makes the whole experience more expensive). For an outstanding pizza try Playa de Marias a few doors down.

And finally - cheers to every staff member from Raisa (spelling?) who checked us in to the guys and team behind the
bar. Super friendly, helpful and
great chats over the bar!

Btw - the walk from Palomino town to the Dreamer is an easy 15 minutes. Unless you have a heavy pack or its absolutely pouring, you don't need to take a moto taxi (but only 2-3K pesos if you do).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its position make it unique on earth, next to the beach and with and excellent view of the highest mountain with snow closest to the ocean, just amazing!; staff are really helpful, and i super suggest to order the armando's pizza!, also try the armando's pasta, they are really famous and tasty!. THE ONLY THING I DIDN'T LIKE, WAS THAT I WAS OUT OF TIME TO KEEP ENJOYING!!!!.

GO THERE AND ENJOY!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We intended to stay for a couple of nights here but ended up staying a week.The private rooms were great value,spacious,quirky and clean,nice grounds ,a great pool and right on the beach.The menu gets a little repetitive after a few days but the food was good and the service friendly.All in all the staff were really helpful and a fun atmosphere everywhere.Recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It' is a nice but its on the pricey side for what you get. If you go to Palominio you are better off walking down to the beach and to the right of the dreamer there is a place with a pool for nearly half the price. If it wasn't so expensive it would be a nice place to stay.
If you are desperate to stay at the dreamer I would recommend booking because quite a few people without reservations were turned away.
Things to be aware of
- Internet reception is terrible. If you need to have things organised before you head out there and if you connect to the wifi then it is a bonus
- we stayed out at palomino for four days and every day the power went out.
- the beach is not amazing. It's pretty rough and currnents. Not a nice swimming beach you would hope for on the carribbean.
- the pool at the dreamer is pretty gross. It would help if the filter was run a bit more frequently

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Dreamer Hostel for two nights July 2013. We just came from Sta. Marta where we had stayed in one of the best hotels so far in South America (Casa de Leda) for 60 euros per night, including breakfast, we paid for the Dreamer Hostel about 52 euros per night wthout breakfast, being 5,20 euros per two. Thus in total the costs were about the same. Obviously, Palomino is more remote and Sta. Marta is not much of a tourist attraction, but we still felt that we paid far too much for what we received.

For example, the rooms are not equiped wth airconditioning, which in this hot place would be nice. During the day the smell in the room got really bad, maybe this was related to some works on the back side of the buildng, but still. Also, something that you don't need at all because of the warmth, but should be included for this price is warm showers. Some other hostels and accommodations at Palomino are directly at the beach (where the Dreamer Hostel is not) with hammocks on the beach and beach chairs and they charge less for a double than the Dreamer Hostel. They do offer a swimming pool, but it fills up with suncream during the day. We felt that the hostel attracted mostly party backpackers which we didn't particularly enjoy. The kitchen seems to have a bit of a fly problem, but I doubt this is different elsewhere in Palomino.

I must say that the double rooms are huge and very clean, the beds are comfortable and the natural fruit juices are really good.

If I would come back to Palomino, I wouldn't book ahead, since most affordable beach side options are not available through the internet, and I would rather stay with those.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

i will highly recommend this location as the hostel , the hostel itself is beautiful, the food is great, the private rooms are amazing, the bar is fun , the staff very friendly.
when you go to the beach u can actually relax, there is not people trying to sell you stuff every minute, the sunsets are amazing the perfect spot to relax. there are mosquitos and buggs around but is to spect, you are in the middle of nowhere... i will for sure recommend this place and come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach

Address: Playa Donaires S.N., Palomino 40007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Palomino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Palomino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.