We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Seascape Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emu Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay
Lot 3 Bates Road, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Emu Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid Seascape Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Mandy & Paul were fabulous hosts and the accommodation was wonderful. We loved every minute of our 4 night stay. It was great meeting people who have lived on Kangaroo Island for many years. The three course dinners featured local produce and were of a very high standard with matching local wines. It was handy having Wifi internet to check weather forecasts and flight details. Our Kangaroo Island Willderness Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and showed us the sights of the island from a comfortable Land Rover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Seascape Lodege this past October for 2 days and one night! We arrived as strangers and left as friends of our proprietors! Mandy and Paul are owners of the seascape Lodge who did everything to ensure our comfort and pleasure for our stay. Mandy even washed my husbands wet and dirty jeans so he could have fresh clothes for our 2 nd day of touring! The accommodations are very comfortable, immaculate and cozy! The meals were leisurely and gourmet with attention to various eating habits! We couldn't have asked for a more personal and accommodating inn on KI. We felt as if we were staying with dear friends who could not do anything but indulge us!
Please read my review of the KI wilderness tours as well.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall is largest but sure all rooms are quite adequate with lovely views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What made our visit to Kangaroo Island so special was the personalized attention of Paul and Mandy Brown. From our airport pickup by Paul, arriving just in time to enjoy our first gourmet dinner cooked by Mandy, we felt more like family or friends than tourists. Their knowledge of the island helps you plan a great few days--we were not disappointed in anything we saw or did.
To talk briefly about the lodge--it is somewhat hard to separate Seascape Lodge from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tours since Paul runs the tours and Mandy the Lodge--our room was at the end of the hall--somewhat larger than other 2 rooms,but even those appeared to be of ample size. Large bathroom, sitting area in the room with chairs, small table on porch that runs along back side of the house. The landscaping was exquisite, everything was blooming so there were flowers everywhere and the back yard flowed out toward Emu Bay. Guest rooms, living room and dining room all have beautiful bay views. And the hen lays eggs in the pots on the front porch, how can you beat it? The Lodge was beautifully kept and clean, loved the local Kangaroo Island products in the bathroom. Mandy whips up epicurean 3 course meals at night--she's working in the kitchen while you're lounging and talking to her an Paul from the table or living room area, just like being in someone's home, Breakfasts were ample, homemade bread, muffins, fruits, juices, eggs (perhaps from resident hen) if you wanted them. Lovely "Island" wines served at night--or when you came in from touring--and we did take wine back with us to the room as offered by Mandy, it was lovely to sit on that back porch for a few minutes and take it all in! Now, re: touring--our guide Bill, who showed up with long dreadlocks, was terrific, all part of the local color. We had booked a private tour with Seascape Lodge counter part KI Wilderness Tours, and were glad we did and it meant we had Bill all to ourselves--we hit all the high spots and I think it is helpful to think of Kangaroo Island as one large animal sanctuary. From New Zealand fur seals in Flinders National Park(and incredible rock formations at Admiral's Arch and later outside at the appropriately named Incredible Rocks) koalas at Hanson Bay Sanctuary, kangaroos at Grassdale Farm National Park (the only kangaroos we saw during our 3 weeks in Australia--Bill had a private key for access so arrangements need to be made in advance) to the endangered Sea Lions at Seal Bay Conservation Park (access to beach area requires Nat'l Park Ranger, but we were able to go with Bill since he is authorized guide) and even Raptor Domain, operated by a local family, added to the wildlife viewing and local experience. Most of the time we had these places all to ourselves, and we could always stay and enjoy the scene as long as we wanted. For lunch, by the way, Bill picks up lunch stuff from KI WT and sets up a picnic style meal somewhere in route. The first day he grilled a great barbecue just outside the Flinder's Range Visitors Center, and the second day we had a 3 course spread outside Rapture Domain--the owners' daughter was married the day before and there was lots of conversation about that--in fact, everywhere we went Bill knew the local folks, introduced us like visiting kin and made us feel part of the whole Island experience. I think I've written more here than any other review I've done--well, it's different from any other place we've been. And for us, staying at the Seascape Lodge was intertwined with a great visit to Kangaroo Island.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall is larger, but not sure it matters that much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are from the UK and stayed at Seascape for 3 nights in March. We have travelled extensively all over the world and have stayed in every type of accommodation, from luxury resorts through to bed and breakfasts. We have been on many wildlife and walking holidays and had expected Kangaroo Island to fit the bill.

The first point we would make is that Australia has become a very expensive place to visit for people from the UK and probably Europe. We imagine that Kangaroo Island is even more expensive as most supplies have to be shipped over from the mainland. As such, we unfortunately did find the cost of our stay at Seascape itself and the compulsory tour that had to be taken as part of that stay (around £2250 in total) to be not good value for the overall experience especially when £260 for three days' car hire and £275 for flights from Adelaide are factored in to give a total of around £2785 for 3 nights on Kangaroo Island!

Seascape Lodge is a very comfortable place to stay but we would not consider it luxurious. Mandy and Paul were good hosts and the food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent. It would have been nice to have tea making facilities in our room so we could have made a drink whenever, although we are sure Mandy would have made us a drink on request, and it was rather off putting to have a notice on the back of our bedroom door saying no food or drink was allowed in the room. As Seascape is promoted as a "luxury" lodge we were rather surprised that there were no added touches such as biscuits offered with our tea when we returned after a long day and that also there were no canapes with pre- dinner drinks.

With regards the tour, we had elected for a private tour on the day of arrival as we were celebrating a birthday (we would have paid about £250 less for a shared tour). Although the plane was about 45 minutes late arriving from Adelaide, we skipped any morning refreshments (although these were not offered, we just saw another couple on a sister tour having a hot drink) and had a rushed lunch, we felt we experienced the full scope of normal stops before returning to the airport at 6pm to pick up our hire car. It was all interesting enough and we enjoyed the company of Scotty and his background information but there was nothing included on the tour that we couldn't have done for ourselves in our hire car. We actually had a narrow escape with Scotty's suggestion of having our picnic lunch at Pandana Wildlife Park- we asked if we could go somewhere else as we don't like managed wildlife attractions and instead we had lunch in a shelter near a beach. We visited the wildlife park on our final day as this was recommended by Mandy and we hadn't seen much wildlife on Kangaroo Island (see later) and it was up for sale and very run down. A glimpse at Tripadvisor reports on this "attraction" will give you an idea.

With regards the island itself, we were totally underwhelmed and think that the local tourist authority have done a very good job of over-marketing the place. Basically, it's a very large island covered in scrub with some nice beaches here and there but nothing compared to those found in New Zealand where we also visited on our two month trip. We drove a total of 900 kms in our car hire and, in all that distance, spotted two koalas (including one on our tour which we found, not the guide), one wallaby, probably about six kangaroos at a reasonably close distance, one enchinada and one dead snake. We are keen walkers and had expected to be walking along cliff tops and so on but, in reality, the walking was extremely limited. The one redeeming place was Remarkable Rocks and Cathedral Cove in Flinders National Park but even in the Park a walk called the "Platypus Walk" was advertised but, as we already knew and the staff admitted, there is no chance of seeing these creatures as they are nocturnal.

Overall, therefore, if you want to visit Kangaroo Island and stay in a comfortable lodge with good food and go on inclusive tours without having to hire a car and enjoy craft shops, wineries and wildlife "attractions", then Seascape Lodge with its tour options will suit you particularly if money is no object. If, however, you enjoy seeing wildlife in the wild and the great outdoors with varied walking at a more reasonable price, there are far better places to go in the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou150163, Owner at Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Under whelmed
I would like to thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Seascape Lodge, it is by this that we are able to establish what we are doing well, and what we might be able to improve on.
If you would allow me to address your concerns:
We don’t provide tea making facilities in the rooms but certainly Mandy as you have said, would have been more than happy to deliver a cup of tea to your room as she has on many occasions as, well as anything that you may have liked to eat. The coffee machine, (which also makes tea), in the living area is available to guests at all times. The note on the door is more about families, as we would prefer that children don’t take drinks to their rooms.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your tour, and certainly the late arrival would have had an impact on your day, as we do pride ourselves on our relaxed tours and long lunches. Your guide (I assume you meant Speedy as we do not have a driver named Scotty) I am sure would have given you a great deal of information that you would not have been able to learn about Kangaroo Island if you had been in a hire car. Like all of our drivers Speedy has lived on the Island for more than 30 years giving our guests a real insight to “Island” life. Your experience at Seal Bay would have been a private tour and if you had gone there in a hire car you would have most likely been in a group of 30-40 others on a public tour. When we have clients touring for just one day we do encourage them to do our “life” tour as it does involve a lot of unsealed roads which can be a challenge to drivers inexperienced on country roads. We find this makes it a much more relaxing and less stressful experience for you as guests.
Kangaroo Island has been described by many as “a zoo without fences” but as with any animals in the wild we can’t make promises about how many you will see on a particular day. For that reason we quite often have lunch at the Parndana Wild life Park as it is a great chance to get close to the animals. If you had visited the park with us on tour your driver would have asked the owners to bring out a Joey for you to hold, as they generally have an orphan being hand raised.
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you making the effort. We have taken the signs out of the rooms re food & drink, and will take on board your other comments.
Regards
Mandy & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent two fantastic days and nights at Seascape Lodge in July 2013. Initially, I wasn't sure about staying at a place everyone said was like "staying with friends" because I often prefer to relax and not feel compelled to be sociable, but Mandy and Paul have managed to strike the perfect balance between staying at a friend's house and staying at a luxury resort. The atmosphere is completely comfortable and relaxed AND the rooms and food were impeccable. (Our teenagers continue to rave about Mandy's cooking and they've been known to be somewhat fussy customers.) The view of the beach, and sunrise, from each of the rooms is exquisite (so good that it's now my screensaver). Our Kangaroo Island guide, Chris Baxter, who was arranged by Paul, really made the Island come alive for us as he's lived there all his life and was able to impart local knowledge and colour beyond the usual tidbits. All in all, this is a special place that I'd recommend with no reservations.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similarly excellent. I believe the room at the end of the hall is slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple in January 2013 - what an amazing place. We concur totally with other reviewers who say that this is like staying with good friends, and with others who say that Seascape Lodge is sheer luxury. Paul and Mandy have achieved a subtle balance between making you feel very much at home, whilst also retaining the element of being "pampered" - for us, a perfect combination for a holiday. Nothing pretentious, just excellent customer service. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here, and if we could award 10 seats, we would!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kangaroo1026952, Manager at Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much ladies for sharing your experiences! It was a pleasure to meet you both and have you enjoy our gorgeous Island. Both Peter and I very much enjoyed our couple of days at Seascape Lodge - any opportunity to share great food, wine and company is always welcomed!! I hope the rest of your travels in Australia were just as enjoyable. See you in Switzerland some day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Seascape Lodge for two nights – March 18 and March 19, 2013 – and loved it. The setting overlooking Emu Bay was spectacular. The accommodations were beautiful, and Mandy and Paul were gracious hosts. The delicious home-cooked breakfasts and dinners and the congenial company were highlights of our trip to Kangaroo Island. We would definitely recommend Seascape Lodge – it is a little gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay

Address: Lot 3 Bates Road, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Emu Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Emu Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury 5 star boutique lodge with spectacular ocean views from all rooms. Packages include fine dining and private 4WD tours of Kangaroo Island. Purpose built to provide the most discerning visitor with the finest Kangaroo Island experience. We look forward to welcoming you to Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seascape Lodge On Emu Bay Hotel Kangaroo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seascape Lodge on Emu Bay to your Saves list