We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location on Kangaroo Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Searenity Holiday Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Searenity Holiday Accommodation to your Saves list
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   1 Hawthorn Avenue, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location on Kangaroo Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was recommended to me by a friend to stay at Searenity during my visit to Kangaroo Island. Emu Bay is amazing, you have the view of the ocean from your front door step and in walking distance of an amazing beach! I got to hang out with the pelicans, watch seals argue & woken up by a bunch of penguins. I highly recommend you stay at Searenity during your stay on Kangaroo Island, you won't be disappointed. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
60
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Easily and comfortably accommodated six adults and two children, very clean and very well equipped home with easy access to the beach at Emu. Good access routes for all main attractions and sights of Kangaroo Island Very welcoming and helpful hosts

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We travelled with our 21 month son and arrived on Kangeroo Island in the afternoon. The moment we met our hosts and stepped into the holiday apartment, we knew that we will be having a great stay the next few days. On the very day we reached, Herb and Janette brought us to see koala just 2 minutes away from the home and our boy was delighted. The next day, they brought some toys for our son, which really kept him occupied and entertained. On the last day, I got to know that those were the toys their first son played with when he was young and they intend to keep the toy for their grandchild! Really appreciated the thought of sharing I must say. The apartment was spotless ( comparable if not better than a lot of 5 stars hotels we have stayed) and the kitchenette was well equipped for us to do some cooking for our son. The baby cot was clean and came with nice blankets. Also, the beach, just 5-10 minutes walk away was beautiful. Emu bay is also well located for travelling to places to interests like the seal bay and flinders chase. Would definitely stay here again! If not that we have to fly 7 hours to reach Adelaide, will visit Kangeroo island next year as our boy really enjoyed the trip! Last but not least, Herb also went the extra mile to help us download some pictures as we have forgotten to clear our memory card. He lent us his personal MacBook, which was really helpful. Would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we arrived at kangaroo island, we weren't quite expecting it to be so big!! one of the best things about this apartment is that its centrally located so you are within easy access of all the sights as well as supplies and restaurants... as for the apartment itself, immaculate...there is not an appliance that exists that you will not find in that apartment...believe me, my wife was making a list of things to add to our own home...
when we first arrived we were worried that we hadn't booked any tours, but that was before we met Herb And Janette... together the both of them planned our entire itinerary for the 2 days we were there and it was perfect(Herb was a park ranger for 30 years)... every time we left a spot and saw a big tour bus coming we were so glad that we decided to do it on our own...
they truly treated us like family... thank you so much Herb and Janette for sharing your island with us... and of course, you cant beat the moonrise over the water!!! yup, moon not sun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Emu bay is just simply beautiful and the apt was very modern and immaculately kept, the kitchen was perfect for preparing our light meals and midnight snacks! As a light sleeper, I had the best sleep and most needed rest staying there. We were going to just stay one night only but decided to do 2 nights just before we headed out... we should have stayed more!!!!

Herb & Jeanette were the best hosts you could ever ask for, nothing is ever too troublesome for them and they were ALWAYS around ready to help us with any questions! If you are tired of the motel/hotel settings, this is where you need to be when visiting KI. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Searenity Holiday Apartment for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great accommodation, easy access to everything we wanted to see and do, wonderful hosts and the views of Emu Bay were awesome. Kingscote was also nearby for shopping and restaurants. Herb was a park ranger so was able to give us some insightful tidbits as to where to go and what to see while on the island. Thank you so much Herb and Janette for a wonderful stay on your beautiful island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahndorf, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Searenity apartment was even better than the photos on the web page portrayed - very roomy, beautifully fitted out and immaculately maintained. A full sized single bed was set up in the bedroom to accommodate our 13 year old son and we still had plenty of room to move about! Herb and Jeanette were such generous hosts - warm, sincere, knowledgeable and very good humoured. It is clear from the comments in the Visitor's Books that all guests are/have been treated to the same high standard of accommodation and welcome. After a very 'rough' voyage on the ferry we were most grateful for the opportunity to share the serenity offered at Searenity. We very much look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Searenity Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searenity Holiday Accommodation

Address: 1 Hawthorn Avenue, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Emu Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Emu Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Searenity Holiday Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searenity Accommodation is located at Emu Bay on the north coast of Kangaroo Island and only a short drive to Kingscote the Island’s main township. It provides accommodation for up to 10 people with modern decor, panoramic sea views and only a short walk to the beach. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay. Accommodation can be either self catering or breakfast provisions can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Searenity Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searenity Holiday Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.