We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar and bartender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 933

Bistro 933
53995 State Road 933, Hilton Garden Inn, South Bend, IN 46637
574-232-7700
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 241 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great bar and bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were staying at the Inn at Saint Mary's and wandered over to Bistro 933 for a drink. The bartender was terrific; sorry, I don't remember his name. Very nice place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Bistro 933, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visitng the Bistro 933 while staying in South Bend.We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and service. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Jeff Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Full Service Restaurant and Bar on St. Mary's College Campus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We sat at the bar and got a kick out of watching the staff work tirelessly to keep up with the crowds resulting from a home football game and an on site wedding. It is a nice place to grab a bite in the bar off the lobby of the Hilton Garden Inn. We had sandwiches and watched one of the college games on the bar television. I have not seen another full service restaurant/bar on the St. Mary's campus, so this is a much needed addition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Bistro 933, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your experience after the home game. We hope you can join us again when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Service was good, but food was a mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed nearby and on a rainy night decided to try this restaurant. It is located in the Hilton Garden Inn and it was not that pretty of a place. Just ordinary. However, our server, Jo, made our night. She was attentive, without being overbearing.
I had the Norwegian Salmon, which was done to perfection. (Thank you, Chef!) I asked for a different side and she accommodated me with another vegetable. The Blueberry and Peppadew relish was different, but good. One of our party had the hamburger and he just enjoyed the heck out of it. His french fries were obviously hand cut and he said they was very good. The last of our party, however complained about his Shamrock Alfredo Campanelle, because he thought the chicken was overdone and the broccoli was too. I tried it and liked it, so, it is always the "taste thing" going on.
The restaurant has a bar, so you can get local and premium brews and a small wine list.
I was too full to try the dessert, but it was either a Napolean with ice cream or Grand Marnier cheesecake with orange caramel sauce. I wished I would have saved room for the Napolean.
All in all, I don't think this is a bad place to visit. You try it and see what you think.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Bistro 933, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback its always nice to hear positive remarks about our menu and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Casual with an upscale ambience. Excellent service. Drinks are the best. Burgers were just what you needed after a hot day and football game. They also have a buffet choice. Definitely a good choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Bistro 933, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Feel free to join us after each home game for our Soup and Salad Buffet. Reservations are always best but walk-ins are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Food and Service Were VERY Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have never had dinner at a Hilton Garden Inn, but due to its proximity to The Inn at Saint Mary's, we decided to give it a try and were completely blown away with the quality of the food and the friendly, competent staff. The place was busy, and those servers were on it! Ours went out of her way to tell us that, since it was Wednesday night, we were entitled to a complimentary bottle of house wine with our dinners, and that was very fun. We had the filet mignon and pork chops; both were prepared to perfection and served with mashed potatoes and asparagus - both sides a substitute offered happily. Garden salads with house-made honey bourbon dressing were excellent, and the chocolate dessert was wonderful. We would DEFINITELY recommend Bistro 933!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Bistro 933, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, we are glad you were able to enjoy our Wine and Dine Wednesday special, a free bottle of wine when you order two entrees. Stop in any time to try our daily feature as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 933 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.