We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn South Bend

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn South Bend to your Saves list
Quality Inn South Bend
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Dixie Way South, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Jameson Inn South Bend)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Palmyra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here on way home, as it is about half way and needed to get a good night sleep before making it the rest of the way home. Room was standard ChoiceHotel style and was clean. Price was a bit high for less than 24 hour stay, but I got a good night sleep, so it was worth it. Convienent to the highway, but not sure what else is around, as I was just passing through. Seems like it would be a decent place to stay awhile if you happened to be in town for some reason. Nothing really to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
20
6
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Knew I was booking into a hotel that was not brand new or even recently refurbished. I had a realistic expectation for this hotel and although this was not to be a five star experience while we visited the campus of Notre Dame, thought it would just be an acceptable hotel accommodation while we were in the area. Be that as it may, the place sunk to a new low. I drove up to the door and from the very minute I entered the hotel lobby it was dirty. The windows of the entrance were dirty, the halls were dirty, and the rooms was dirty., every bit of carpeting was dirty. The sheets were clean and the bathroom was somewhat clean. The floors were dirty. The furniture was filthy and had not been dusted in a while. The lamps had webs on the shades and there was old food in the refrigerator. OMG!!!! Gross. There for three nights, but housekeeping never serviced the room on day two, even though we were out of the room from 8AM-4PM. No need for a wake up call either. Slamming doors wake you up between 6 and 6:30 AM. Can hear talking from the next room and toilets flushing from above. Have stayed at other Quality Inn hotels and have been extremely pleased with these hotels, always clean. This one leaves a bad mark on the chain. Front desk staff were just okay, not really helpful. Food for the breakfast, just acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Better than expected! Our room was nice and clean. Breakfast was good but did have a few things that ran out and was slow to refill. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good price at this hotel I will be back to stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Carpet wrinkled and dirty, rooms dated and dirty, common areas tired and dirty. Notice a theme? Also, walls paper thin making it noisy. Would never recommend to a friend. Stayed here for son's baseball tournament and was guided here by tournament organizer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in the Notre Dame/St. Mary's University area and handy to downtown. It is mostly clean but the hallway and room carpets were stained. Breakfast was the usual waffle, etc. fare but look out of your stay coincides with that of three teen age baseball teams. Getting to the food was nearly impossible and those boys can eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was a little weary when I found out my company booked me here after reading some of the reviews. I was wrong to worry, the place was nice. The young man at the check-in counter was super friendly. I was at the very end of the hotel, which had an access where a key-card was used; I found the door to be secure, which was a relief. The room was clean and updated with a comfortable bed, pillows, bedding and a flat screen TV. The refrigerator was tucked away in a cabinet and there was a small microwave. Water pressure was great (big deal to me) and the bathroom was spacious; the sink area was outside of the bathroom and had a large counter area. In the evening the parking lot was properly lit as were the exits. I did not hear any noise in my room (ground floor) and slept soundly without any loud interruptions. At breakfast there were a variety of breads, muffins, pastries, waffles and cereals. For beverages there was coffee, tea, milk and 2-3 juices. I did not use the pool or the fitness center.

My only complaint was the Wi-Fi. I had a very weak signal but I was able to email my work so I was happy with that.

If I return to this area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a long day on the road, and checking into a room at 3 a.m., I really tried to be understanding when I discovered the headboard on the bed was broken off and had partially fallen behind the bed, and that neither lamp on each side of the bed worked. The bed itself looked clean and I was already in my PJ's, so I opted not to change rooms. And I really tried to be understanding when I got up a few hours later that same morning and got a good look at the bathroom. It was filthy. Mildew in the shower stall, dirty mirror, hair and filth hadn't been wiped off the sink faucets, dirty handprints up and down the bathroom door, old coffee or soda stains on the wall near the tv, etc. Since the room receipt hadn't been slipped under the door like the clerk said it would be, I stopped by the desk at checkout for a copy. I did (politely) report the housekeeping conditions, and the clerk immediately applied a small discount to my receipt, which I had neither asked for nor expected. I did not check the receipt. My mistake! You see, I had paid in CASH at check-in. When I arrived at my destination, I checked my bank account online. Then I dug out my receipt. It was a mess. Besides having paid cash in advance for the room, the amount of the room charges was also charged to my bank card, TWICE! I received no satisfaction when I phoned the hotel. While I was staring at the two charges on my bank card, the clerk assured me that there was only ONE charge (held out amount) on my card and that IT should drop off in a couple of days. What about their other charge ?????? What an expensive 5 1/2 hr. nap! I guess it would be "sour grapes" to say that the bagel was so dried out that the bottom crunched like toast? I definitely would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbendin, General Manager at Quality Inn South Bend, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide insight into your recent stay at the Quality Inn South Bend. We are always interested in our guest's perspective during their visit and use this information to improve our product and/or service. All areas of the hotel benefit as your concerns are addressed by maintenance personnel, housekeeping staff, and the general manager.
I know that I have spoken with you directly about these issues and have heard nothing further. I assume that the bank has caught up with everything and that your holds have been removed from your card.
Again I am very sorry about the issues that occurred while you stayed with us, and I assure you they have been address.

Melissa Oburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South Bend

Address: 215 Dixie Way South, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Jameson Inn South Bend)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn South Bend Hotel South Bend
Signature Inn South Bend
South Bend Signature Inn
South Bend Jameson Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.