We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 15%
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Very pleased with the customer service, amenities, room, cleanliness & food. The bed was very comfortable! The only downfall was the air in the room -- so dry! Overall, very pleased, though.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    82
    35
    18
    9
See reviews for
109
30
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We loved everything about our stay. The beds and bedding were wonderful--best night's sleep we've had in a long time. Very clean and nicely appointed. Helpful front desk. Good hot breakfast served until 10:00 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I brought a group of 10 year olds to celebrate our daughter's 10th birthday. The junior suite was the perfect size and layout for our group. The pool/spa area was clean, and the girls enjoyed the pool immensely. The breakfast was also nice, and there were plenty of choices to please a variety of tastes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Every time I come to South Bend for business I always stay here as well as my other associates. This past stay will be our last. The customer service has gone from exceptionally great to just plain rude. It seems like every time I check in the Sales Manager hasn't communicated our rates with the front office; resulting in everyone getting charged a different rate. When I addressed this the other day with the front desk it was as there was no one there who knew how to fix this problem. The management seems very disconnected and ought to start paying attention. This never used to happen and I am sorry to say we are going to another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We have tried to find a past reservation for you but have no record. I would love to speak with you and resolve this issue personally. We do not take the fact that guests choose Hampton for a reason, service! THank you again for the feedback.
Kim Kudelka, GM
574-277-9373
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. But if you are a Hilton Honors member, it takes the same points (25000) to stay here as the Hilton Garden Inn (Excellent) and the Hampton Mishawaka (where the staff goes out of their way to help you.) The HGI doesn't have free breakfast - but as a Silver member you get that anyway. At the Hampton Mishawaka there is some need to update the carpets in the hallways, the tile in the bathrooms and a few maintenance issues. BUT the staff more than makes up for the needed updates. The staff at Hampton South Bend - not so much.
PS to Notre Dame fans - they did not have the non-home game on TV the first time I stayed there in September 2009. This happened on my very first visit to see my freshman son and I was extremely disappointed. All the staff could say was that it wasn't their fault - it was their cable carrier's fault and that I could go to a bar and watch the game.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
THank you for your comments. I am terribly sorry you did not have a good experience while staying with us. We pride ourselves on guest service so this is very concerning. I assure you the staff has just gone through a major turnover and this sort of thing will not be tolerated.
Have a great day! Kim Kudelka, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

clean, quiet, spacious accommodations, friendly staff, near UND

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Usually a church group have to pay thru the nose for the accomdations we received during our recent stay at Hampton Inn & Suites, but they really gave us a good deal in July.The rooms were clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. The staff was very accomadating to all of our needs. The breakfast was on target!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Bend
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#7 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.