We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud but tolerable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend to your Saves list
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very loud but tolerable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is very loud, very loud, because they have an indoor pool. We did not come for the pool. We came to sleep. Until 3 AM there were kids and adults running through the halls, yelling, swearing, throwing things. But we were tired enough to fall asleep, but woke up often because of the noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
49
30
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I was looking for an easy get away with my family. We just wanted someplace clean with a pool, where we could relax and swim. Waterford Lodge was close to Chicago, but quiet enough to relax. The pool was very clean and at a great temperature. My 3 year old swam for nearly 4 hours straight. Our room was welcoming and clean. Housekeeping was pleasant and provided whatever we needed. The front desk was courteous, attentive, and very helpful anytime we needed anything. The hotel isn't brand new, and could use a little more upkeep, but overall it was a very relaxing time for me and my family.

Room Tip: We were given one right next to the pool. This was great for little ones who liked to "run back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We like this hotel. As compared to others, the rooms we have stayed in have been wonderful, spacious, and clean. Recently, we have been staying here quite often. Rooms are spacious, great TV, beds are a little soft (full size if 2 in a room), small microwave and mini-refrigerator. The buffet was good - hot meal (plentiful). Some of the carpets have stains but if you can look past that -- you would find that the Bose radio will put you at ease and right to sleep.

Room Tip: We had 2 good rooms on the first floor, 2nd half.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Hotel:

The rooms were large in size with a new TV, comfortable beds, microwave, and mini-frig. The breakfast buffet was good and included biscuits and gravy, eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausage. The pool had a cool little 1 ft area where my 2 and half year old son and 9 month old daughter could splash around.

As far as negatives, the pool was a little chilly and the hot tub was not even warm. The water was very chlorine-y. At breakfast one morning the sausage was cold but everything else was fine. Also there were a few repairs needed or shotty workmanship done on parts of the hotel. For example, the ceiling in our room near the bathroom was starting to peel back. Also, a few outlet covers were loose. Just basic maintenance stuff that needs to be looked at.

The Staff:

The staff was friendly but unprofessional. And when I say unprofessional I mean in the basic sense. They forgot to give us our breakfast vouchers when we checked in but it was no trouble getting them later. The cleaning ladies asked if we wanted our rooms tidied up. I thought that was standard practice? Some people I was staying with had rude encounters with the front desk though I did not.

Overall:

For the price we paid ($65 a night) I would stay there 10 times out of 10 trips to South Bend. If you’re staying the weekend of a Notre Dame home football game the price will be five times what we paid and then it would not be worth it (but that goes for any South Bend hotel on those weekends).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where Pigs Fly
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had reservations to stay at this hotel because we were visiting family and did not realize the other hotels were booked because of move-in weekend at Notre Dame. We knew it was supposed to have been "renovated", but even driving up gave me a clue that we were probably wrong. The tower in the front of the place has water damage and looks like IT needs a renovation. There were no flowers or landscaping to make a nice entrance and the doors look worn. When you enter it looks good with the exception that the lobby does not look finished.

They had our reservation and the lady at the front desk was pleasant enough,although there was no sign of professionalism, no uniforms etc. Just looks like someone came in off the street to work. She then proceeded to call a maid on her Home Deport walky talky to find out if the room was ready. This took quite a few minutes (again, not feeling too good about this).

We got our room and were told to drive around the side of the building to the side entrance. The side of the building looks like a warehouse and the side door looks like an entrance to hell. Worn door, moldy old carpeting etc. What we realized was that the front of the hotel is attached to an older "strip" motel with the outside windows now facing into a "hall" or passage. Nice. When we entered the room it was so dark we couldn't see each other...that was it for me. They offered us another room, but no way! And since we booked it on the internet, they would not give us a credit. We had to return home and call to get a refund.

This place isn't renovated, it shouldn't even be open...disgusting. I don't have any idea what some other people were talking about when they said it was a nice hotel. If I could, I wouldn't even give it any mark.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stay here quite a bit and have always been satisfied. This time the outdoor pool was open. It was clean, warm, and tons of fun! Great way to wind the kids down. The only complaint I have is the water pressure seemed a little weak.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel was fantastic. I received an excellent rate for a hotel that was superior. The rooms were modern and clean, even fancy. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were a very high thread count making my night's sleep excellent. Add to this the full breakfast that came complimentary with our room (not just continental) and this is a hotel that I will stay at again, if visiting the South Bend area. You can feel confident that you will have a great experience at this location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Address: 52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, in South Bend, this hotel is close to St. Mary's College, Hesburgh Library, and University of Notre Dame. Also nearby are Snite Museum and Basilica of the Sacred Heart. Waterford Estates Lodge features an indoor pool and spa. Other amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access. The Bend Pub & Grill is open for dinner Wednesday-Saturday starting at 4pm. Guestrooms have refrigerators,microwaves,air conditioning,and complimentary wireless Internet access. Minimum check-in age is 21. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend Hotel South Bend
Waterford Estate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.