We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53993 US 933, South Bend, IN 46637   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Overall, this is a very nice hotel to stay. The free hot breakfast is more than expected and one of the best I have ever had. It is also right by the ramp of the I-90, which is very convenient for those who drive to South Bend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The Inn at Saint Mary’s is glad you were able to experience our free breakfast buffet. The breakfast is designed to give the guest a home cooked meal feeling. Our location is also a prime asset to our business. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we will see you the next time you are in South Bend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    93
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
151
78
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I usually stay at Hiltons or Sheratons, and frankly chose this hotel only because they had an airport shuttle, and the Hilton did not. I am so glad I found this wonderful place, which is just as nice as those chains, but has far more personalized service. The concierge was remarkable, and helped me find the perfect spot for dinner. The hotel was full for a Notre Dame reunion, but still gave me excellent service (I was not part of the reunion).

Room Tip: the concierge level rooms have really nice jacuzzi tubs in the room, but no other benefits. worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The Inn at Saint Mary’s is an independent boutique. All of our amenities stand out to the consumers and the airport shuttle is just one of them. No matter what group we are hosting the concierge and staff will treat everyone with the personalized legendary service we are known for. We look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay the next time you are in South Bend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

When you are students, we are always looking for the best deal. While choosing to stay at the Inn at St. Mary's by recommendation from the Fischoff competition, we did not expect such poor customer service.

We had attempted to split our bill over two cards. The result was three separate charges for the room, totalling over 1000$. When attempting to resolve the issue before departing, no one could give us a suitable explanation or solution to the matter, just that it would be taken care of within a few hours or that they would call us back, all which did not happen. This is all within a few days of a very stressful competition in South Bend.

At check out, we were assured that there was only one charge on the account. Sure enough, this morning, it is apparent the issue was not properly resolved. We have called back and the best they could offer was a voicemail option. Severely distressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
The Inn at Saint Mary’s apologizes for any stress the billing issue may have caused. When training the staff we will be sure to go over the proper way to handle multiple card payments on a reservation. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com and I will assist you with getting this matter token care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn at Saint Marys a number of times since our daughter set foot on campus three years ago. It has never disappointed us and my husband travels often on business and stays at a variety of business class hotel chains. The spacious lobby is open and inviting and the front desk personnel are always cheerful and pleasant; especially when extremely busy. There is always a thoughtful added touch like the fresh baked cookies. I have always found the rooms clean and comfortable and often with a stunning view of the campus. I recently stayed for Junior Mom's weekend and was extremely pleased with my stay. I joined the Inner Circle club and was upgraded to a concierge room. Between the plush robe, slippers, snacks, bottled water, assortment of coffee, tea and chocolates I felt like I was at the Four Seasons. The hot breakfast selection had been expanded significantly from previous stays and everything served was good and constantly being replenished. The Bar/Lounge area, although small, has always been a welcome respite; even when filled with sophomore parents in the cold of February.
Happy Mom

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are closer to the all night beverage bar for those who stay up late and lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Inn at Saint Mary’s has a variety of amenities for our guest. The idea is for this property to be your home away from home during your many years of visiting the campus. We are pleased that you are now a part of the Parents Inner Circle Club. The staff looks forward to giving you another warm welcome during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable. Great hospitality - hot cookies in the lobby when we checked in! The free hot breakfast was very good. Dining and bar areas were small and bartender/beverage manager seemed unfriendly, and annoyed when a group of 6 of us walked in early one evening. Would recommend the hotel, but there are plenty of other places around to grab a drink if you are looking for one.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the warm cookies at check in and the full hot breakfast buffet in the morning. The Inn is sorry to hear that your experience in the faculty lounge was not great but we are working to improve the atmosphere. If you have any recommendations that you would like to give please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great location on Saint Mary's Campus and a nice walk to Notre Dame especially on a football weekend. Extremely friendly front desk staff do everything to make your stay very pleasant. The lobby is inviting, the rooms are very clean, plush towels and Aveda products in the bathroom and great views from the large windows. The pool next door, the gym, the wifi, the plentiful complimentary buffet breakfast (with fresh fruit and yogurt, scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, cheese, hash browns and much more) a complimentary shuttle service, and a cozy bar make you feel so much at home! It is the best deal for your money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The Inn at Saint Mary’s location is perfect for the business or leisure traveler. All of the hotel amenities are designed to make the guest feel comfortable while away from home. We look forward to your future stay at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beatiful, dramatic windows and woodwork in the lobby, very clean rooms, but best of all, the free buffet breakfast- best I've seen! Alos, the gym and wifi were included. Great hotel, and will be back if my daughter gets into Notre Dame (haha)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
The lobby of the Inn at Saint Mary’s is very beautiful indeed! The complimentary fitness center,
Wi-Fi, and full hot breakfast buffet are great amenities that the hotel offers. Do not worry your daughter will get into Notre Dame and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Address: 53993 US 933, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame.Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, cosmetic mirror and full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet access in every room, wireless Internet access in public areas, a fully functional Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.