We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in South Bend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 N St Joseph Street, South Bend, IN 46601 (Formerly South Bend Marriott)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in South Bend
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great option in South Bend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a night here in December for a wedding. We had just left the Park Hyatt in Chicago the evening before so we definitely managed our expectations. On top of it, with thought the renovations occurring would be distracting.

I am happy to report we had a lovely stay at this hotel. The renovations did not invade in our stay - you can definitely see this hotel will be top notch once all renos are finished. Location to the main street is wonderful - tons of breakfast and lunch options. Rooms were extremely clean and the beds were comfy.

One item of note is the bathroom (particularly the shower fixture) was a bit dated. I am hoping that is part of future renovation plans.

Overall, a great visit and I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the comfortable beds and clean rooms. Please accept our apology for the dated shower fixture in your guestroom. A complete guestroom renovation is in progress including all bathroom fixtures. It is scheduled for completion this Spring. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    83
    38
    15
    2
See reviews for
103
39
7
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My stay in early December of 2012 was during construction, but I had a remodeled room, and it was quite nice. The bedding, mattress, and towels were high quality. And the lighting fixtures and art work were also quite nice. However, the number of cable channels available was less than at many other hotels. As far as I could tell, all rooms had a window -- mine looked out over the atrium, with a view of their nicely-decorated Christmas tree. The room had a mini-fridge, but no microwave. The staff was very professional and helpful -- even bringing something from the gift shop up to my room. The main downside of this hotel is that they charge you extra for parking ($9 per day) -- in the hotel's own garage! In a really big city like Chicago, I'd expect that; but not in South Bend. The other issue concerns the traffic patterns around the hotel: several one-way streets make getting around the area confusing. But if I had business in the downtown area of South Bend, this hotel would be a good base of operation.

Room Tip: The elvators are slow, so you'll have less of a wait on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful staff and newly renovated guest rooms. We are excited about our new product and opened our new restaurant, Baker’s Bar and Grill today. Our lobby and room’s renovation will be completed soon. We will also open a new full service Starbucks this spring.

Your complete satisfaction is very important to us. We regret to hear that your stay was negatively impacted by the cost of our downtown parking and available TV channels. We are always striving to make improvements to our product and service and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was very impressed by the staff at this Doubletree. For some reason, I had several issues that arose (through no fault of the hotel) and the staff could not have been more accomodating. From the front desk that arranged a taxi to the engineer that answered my concerns regarding my door, the entire staff was wonderful. The room was very clean and modern. I am planning on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Ms P
Thank you for your compliments about our staff and service, they are most appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your room and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Its nice to see that some of the Double Tree's are doing full renovations and this is one that is in the midst of it so please don't let the construction detur you. Even though I stayed in one of the non renovated rooms it was still nice and clean (a bit outdated but changes are coming) I stayed in a corner room with a very nice view of the city (free upgrade due to Diamond Status). The main thing is that the room was clean.The Executive louge was also nice with a good selection of breakfast foods. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: check and see what rooms have been updated before choosing a room (if you are checking in online)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
As a Diamond member I would like to thank you for your loyalty and feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do appreciate your patience as we renovate. We are excited about the updated product we will soon have and hope we see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel was kept nicely, the staff were very friendly and had no problems with this hotel at all. It was close to Notre Dame and also close to a number of places to eat. All in all we enjoyed the stay and we were impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our housekeeping and staff service. So glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and downtown South Bend, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

All in all I thought this hotel was nice.

Good rooms, good atmosphere. Lots of Notre Dame fans, which is always a plus.

The only thing I wasn’t a big fan of was that the double beds in our room were more like a single and a half.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and your guestroom. We are delighted to accommodate many football fans and enjoy the excitement that comes from Notre Dame home football games. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of our full sized double beds. Your complete satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is under repairs, so I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and give it two stars instead of one. The best part about the place is the proximity to restaurants and the river walk in South Bend. The bad parts: the rooms are dated, extremely dry, and pretty average for the price point. Not necessarily their fault, but they failed to warn my wife that the complimentary cookie they handed her had nuts in it (she's allergic). The construction noise starts at 8am. The mirror over the bed is an interesting choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. As you noted, we are in the process of a major renovation in all areas of the hotel. We regret that you were not able to experience our newly renovated guestroom. We are deeply troubled that it was unclear that our complimentary chocolate chip cookies have walnuts in them. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and regret the dissatisfaction we caused you. We would honor the opportunity to discuss your experience in detail. Our General Manager or Guest Service Manager can be reached at 574-234-2000. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Address: 123 N St Joseph Street, South Bend, IN 46601 (Formerly South Bend Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 6,000 square feet of meeting space onsite, and an additional 150,000 square feet located in the adjacent Century Center Convention Complex, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton is South Bends premier hotel for meetings and events. This 295 room luxury hotel is conveniently located in downtown South Bend within minutes of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College, and the College Football Hall of Fame. As the only full service Hilton Hotel in South Bend, you can expect the highest level of service that is synonymous with the name Hilton. Enjoy spectacular views of the St. Joseph River along with easy walking to many of South Bends most popular attractions. Our onsite dining features locally inspired dishes that are sure to satisfy even the most discriminating critic. Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, The DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton South Bend will meet the mark every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Bend
South Bend Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.