We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere in South Bend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Oliver Inn to your Saves list
The Oliver Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   630 West Washington Street, South Bend, IN 46601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 South Bend B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere in South Bend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently traveled to South Bend for a three-day business trip. Flew into Chicago and drove to South Bend. As it was my first time visiting this city, the Oliver Inn was recommended for accommodations. At first I thought it odd that a B&B would be recommended over a hotel, but after comparing prices it was apparent that staying at the Oliver Inn was about the same price as a decent hotel. No hotel can compare to the amazing breakfast we were served every morning. Alice knew what time we needed to be out the door each morning and had breakfast ready right when we needed it. Alice and Tom were a wealth of information about the area. Service was impeccable. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with flat screen TVs and free WiFi. Every point of interest in South Bend is easily accessible, including Notre Dame. We wanted to visit the campus and Alice gave us pointers on how to obtain a parking pass at the guard station. Worked like a charm :) Whether you are visiting South Bend for business or pleasure, and especially for a romantic get-away, don't even think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
83
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience here for an office meeting. The food was excellent and topped off with a homemade cake with the most phenomenal frosting ever, second best only to my sweet Grandmas! After a tour of the rooms I really wish we could have stayed the night. The rooms are very well done and it feels like you step back in time with all the wonderful antiques, and rich history. I would highly recommend a stay here and hope to get a chance to come back myself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were expecting good things from The Oliver Inn but the reality exceeded expectations.

The house is beautifully maintained and decorated and the bedding is ultra luxurious. There are so many wonderful touches in the bedroom and bathroom.

The innkeepers are so friendly and hospitable. I am gluten free and all sorts of delicious treats were made especially for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in Clement Studebaker room which was beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent one night at the Oliver Inn and wished I could have stayed longer! It is very elegant, but also comfortable. My room was beautiful. I stayed in the Knute Rockne room, which had a private balcony overlooking a portion of their beautiful garden. The room was scrupulously clean. It had a large walk-in closet, an extremely comfortable king bed, desk, dressing table, dresser, settee, lounge chair with footstool, electric fireplace, and flat screen TV. Sounds crowded, but it wasn't at all! It felt homelike. The room was a mix of antique and modern, and charmingly decorated. The bathroom had a heated floor, heated towel rack, a lovely old bathtub, and a luxuriously modern shower!

Everything was provided throughout my stay, including books/magazines, exclusive toiletries, coffee and water, homemade snacks, and a delicious breakfast! The hosts, Tom and Alice Erlandson, are warm and hospitable, and cater to their guest's needs. They are also a great source of information and really helpful. If you have questions regarding Notre Dame logistics, they can provide ideas and guidance!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This B&B and its hosts couldn't have provided a better experience overall! The decor, the food, the accessibility and their charm and thoughtfulness are all top notch! We will go only there while in South Bend now. Kudos to the restoration of The Oliver Mansion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented the entire inn for our son's wedding in early September. The inn is charming with lovely rooms and beautiful grounds. Alice and Tom were so helpful when planning the small family wedding. The wedding ceremony was held in the inn's library which has a striking fireplace mantel, built-in bookcases, and bay window. Alice and her crew prepared a delicious meal following the ceremony. Tom helped us set up all of the tables for the dinner outside on the shaded lawn. And, he helped us move everything inside very quickly when raindrops started to fall! All of our quests commented on how much they enjoyed their two night stay at the Oliver Inn. They loved the spacious rooms and baths, and everyone enjoyed the fantastic homemade breakfasts! The bride and groom said the Oliver Inn was the perfect venue for their wedding! Thanks again, Alice and Tom!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House which was very nice and spacious. Our guests stayed in the remaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

On a visit to U of Notre Dame, my wife and I stayed at the Oliver Inn for a couple of nights. Very safe, attractive and convenient location to the U, downtown and good restaurants. Some exterior renovation still in progress but not objectionable in any way. Meticulously maintained interior, extremely comfortable room and very generous, delicious breakfast. Alice is a delight and could not have been more helpful or outgoing. Just an extremely pleasant experience. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Address: 630 West Washington Street, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oliver Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.