We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel was nice. problem with reservations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn South Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn South Bend to your Saves list
Sleep Inn South Bend
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4134 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“hotel was nice. problem with reservations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We requested 2 queen beds in a nonsmoking room. I printed my confirmation showing the same. I thought that this would be a nice place to rest in the middle of a long drive and upon our arrival was happy with the outward appearance of the hotel. However, the clerk at the front desk informed me that his system indicated that we had requested a King room with a pull out couch.
Knowing this was incorrect, I showed him my confirmation and his response was basically “oh well”. Upon entering our room, already not pleased, we discovered that the room we were assigned used to be a smoking room and smelled terribly of smoke. I again called the front desk and informed the clerk of our concern over the smell. He informed me that all the rooms are now non-smoking (as of June 1) and that room was all he had available. No apology or concern. I had doubts that the hotel was at 100% capacity, as the parking lot was no were near full and the hallways and pool were quiet. I’ve been to other hotels where they bend over backwards to please the customer. Definitely not the case here. Thank goodness none of us had asthma because that room smelled so strongly of smoke that it lingered in my clothing and suitcase the rest of the weekend.

This hotel itself was nice. The room, apart from smelling like a cigarette, was clean and would have been comfortable- had we had the right beds! I am disappointed by how we were treated. A simple and genuine “I’m sorry” or “Let me see what I can do” would have gone a long way. But instead we were shown an indifferent attitude. If you chose this hotel, I would call before you get there any make sure you get what you request.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
17
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

After a stressful day finishing packing for my trip, I made sure to bring a cup of bath salts for the tub. It was well worth the extra cost.
One thing I never commented on before, is that they have 24/7 coffee in the lobby, as well as a coffeemaker in the room.
The hotel is just as great as other times, the Jacuzzi is a big plus, I soaked in it for a good half hr.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here and There
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We have been stating at this hotel for years and it just keeps getting better in terms of service and value. The rooms are spotless and the beds are great. The service is kind and personal. The Manager is so friendly and accommodating. This hotel us of a better quality than the "top tier" hotels at a significant savings. I will never stop staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and i stayed there Mar 11th. This was not the first time here and it won't be the last, if i am back in the area. The hotel looks great from the road, the front desk staff were friendly and the room was great. The pool looked good but we were not in time to use, i would recommend they extend the hours a bit. The one thing i absolutely love about this hotel are the beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

One warning....if you are catching a flight out of South Bend Airport in the morning, be SURE to check your bag early. I was 4 minutes too late for bag check in, and had to get a later flight. Not the shuttle's fault, but mine.
I find it very nice to have a microwave in the room (unusual for me, but nice to re heat coffee)
Other than that, my room was great, as usual. John is very nice about pre heating the shuttle van so it will be nice ad toasty when I got in it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The staff was very helpful, the room was really clean, the pool was nice and the free breakfast was great! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is located VERY close to the airport, which makes early morning flights easier to manage. The surrounding neighborhood is not that appealing with mostly fast food restaurants and convenience stores close by. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the room was good size and clean. Mini-fridge and microwave were in the room and free Wi-Fi which was easy to access. The hotel seemed pretty quiet, but I was there on a Monday night. On a Notre Dame weekend, the hotel might be pretty noisy. I would definitely stay here again--it is a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor as lower floors may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn South Bend

Address: 4134 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn South Bend 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers Newly Upgraded Rooms with Full Hot Breakfast buffet served every morning. Located close to SB Airport and less than 4 miles from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Bend Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.