We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tippecanoe Place Restaurant

Tippecanoe Place Restaurant
620 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601
574-234-9077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 266 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Monroeville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The house had a nice home felling to it. Not overly fancey just a nice change. The food was excellent. The french onion soup is a must try. I had the New York strip. It was good but what looked even better after I ordered was the traditional prime rib. I must go bac to try that. The menu was just about right as it did not leave for to many choices. The prices were a little on the high side butt this is a nice property and not your average Denny's. They are not open late durring the week so get there early. We got there at 8:pm and by the time we finished our meal and talked a bit we were the last to leave.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    76
    39
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was the private home of the family head of Studebaker Wagon/Automotive factory complex. The building had detiorated over time and was restored and turned into a restaurant. The food is upper middle of the road, but the interior is museam quality. The best part of Tippecanoe Place is touring all of the fantastic rooms. You can see how the very rich lived at the turn of the century.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOT tired restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I dined at the Tippecanoe Place last night. The food was excellent - prime rib and filet. The service great. And don't forget to try the dessert cart. We will certainly return again. We also enjoy the brunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tired restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tired menu , mediocre food, poor service , freezing inside. Don't bother . The waitress couldn't remember who ordered what , the heat didn't seem to be on and the food was average at best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not What I Remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We went to dinner at Tippecanoe last night with family in a white stretch limo for a fun family night. The restaurant is beautiful and decorated for Christmas. It was slow being Friday after Thanksgiving which was okay because we could talk and laugh without disturbing others. Waitress was just okay leaving for periods of time and we could not find her. We started with drinks and I had to ask for refills on my water otherwise no glasses refilled. We ordered dinner and rolls came which were warm and good. Spinach salad was just right and came as house salad with entree. Another's had wedge salad and that too was good. The prime rib was ordered as medium and was dry - never saw this before. I had portabella mushroom ravioli and it was very good. Others had scallops and rissotto which was good as well. Waitress never asked about more drinks and we had to ask to see the dessert tray. I want to believe this was unusual and will try dinner there again or maybe I will try another place - time will tell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippecanoe Place Restaurant also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Tippecanoe Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tippecanoe Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.