We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ivy Court Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life Special
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun, Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a great, fun place to stay very close to the Notre Dame Campus (across the street). Our room had a great view of "Touchdown Jesus" and the Gold Dome of the Main Building. The beds were enormous and comfortable and the room was very spacious. The property is in relatively good condition, fitting for an inn. Morning breakfast is included and had a nice variety, service staff was very gracious and helpful.

Only one small gripe: a few feet from our door there was a plastic bag with what looked like a rotting muffin inside, just lying on the floor. It was there in the morning when we checked in, overnight, and then the next morning the housekeeping cart was parked in from of it. I realize this is an extremely small issue, but it did give me some doubts about the overall cleanliness of the property.

Overall: Great value, fantastic views, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Some effort could be made to improve cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the property to score a view of Touchdown Jesus and the Notre Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Dante M,
Thank you for staying at the Ivy Court! I appreciate you taking the time to review us. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoys their experience at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities like our location, breakfast and staff. I am so sorry for the trash left in your hallway. I can assure you that this is not a normal occurrence and appreciate that you brought it to our attention.
I hope that you are able to visit us again in the future!
Brandon Gill
General Manager
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    51
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
48
21
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My stay at the Ivy Court was great! The amenities are really nice (cookies, coffee/tea, breakfast). The staff is very welcoming and helpful. It's easy to find and really convenient to ND. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer1404, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Linda M,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Ivy Court and most off all for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the cookies we offer! I hope that you will stay with us again if back in the area.

Thanks Again

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My son loved his beautiful room there. He was very thrilled by the whole Ivy Court experience. He has a great passion for photography and loved wandering around the Notre Dame Campus, which is right across the street from the hotel. He captured many great pics. He felt so at home there and was treated like gold by the staff. They are all extremely friendly & helpful and go out of their way to make your stay the best ever! The staff truly cares about the guests staying there and aim to make their stay a memorable one. The Front Desk staff even packed a healthy goodie bag for my son because he was rushing off to catch a bus to bring him back home to Michigan and was super hungry with no time to stop for food. That is impressive! Customer Service to the MAX is what you find here at Ivy Court. I can't wait until summer when our family will head back there for a few wonderful days in such pleasant accomodations. You get so much for your money staying there - the price is great! Thanks to everyone at the Ivy Court. You are BESTEST!!

Green Features: The kindest and friendliest people you will ever find in the hospitality industry work at this hotel. They will do everything in their power to make your stay wonderful. They are very sincere and truly care about their guests. Refreshing!! Excellent concept!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer1404, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Sandra B,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We truly appreciate our guest and enjoy making their stay the best we can. I remember your son and I have to say you did an awesome job with him, he was so polite! We look forward to you coming back to see us this summer and again thank you!

See ya soon

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our stay at the Ivy Court was great. The complimentary breakfast is excellent. We loved having bicycle rental available! While the hotel is across the street from the Notre Dame campus (by the softball field), it is still a long way to get to the main area of campus, so it's easier to bike or drive. Complimentary tea, coffee, and cookies available at the front desk 24 hours/day is another benefit.

We would have preferred adjoining rooms, which are in short supply at this small hotel. The kids would have liked child-sized bikes or a swimming pool, but we obviously didn't expect either of those. The pillows were too over-stuffed for our tastes, but that is typical of most hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Mel A,
Thank you for staying with us! Your feedback is very helpful to us and I hope it will help others in their hunt for a great hotel room when visiting South Bend/Notre Dame. We are a small hotel with only 49 rooms but they are larger than traditional hotel rooms and there are many different layouts. I hope that you had one you liked and on your next visit we will do what we can to get you in to an adjoining room. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our bike rental. March is not always bike friendly in South Bend.
Also… Thanks to your thoughts on the pillows we are working on having some different options for our guests.
Looking forward to your next visit!
Brandon Gill
General Manager
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Ivy Court Inn on a recent trip to visit Notre Dame. Our stay could not have been better. Front desk was very hospitable and helped us with directions to campus and the Ivy Court's map was better than the one ND sent us. The hotel is literally across the street from ND campus. The breakfast is delicious and offers something to suit every taste. We probably had more than our share of their delicious cookies, but they never seemed to run out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Kay H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town, cookies and all!

Kind Regards,
Brandon Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was passing through Indiana and found Ivy Court on Trip Advisor. The $85 price was right and I got to pick my room size and floor. The room was great and the bed so comfortable. The Inn has a homey look. I felt at home in my room instead of the normal hotel look. A few miles off the interstate but don't miss this gem.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi xearon,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We take pride in being different from the traditional hotel. It gives us the opportunity to offer a different experience and we are always glad to hear when our guest enjoy that experience. Please come stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Brandon Gill
General Manager
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I love Ivy Court. The staff are fabulous and pay attention to every detail. I have stayed here since my daughter and fiancé moved here so he could finish his PhD. I stayed here to help plan their wedding; I was here when they got pregnant and needed someone to help with cat box duty; I stayed here 10 days when my grandson was born... I was available to help but not on top of them in their tiny house. And I stay when there is any opportunity to babysit, nurse any of the family back to health, or just play with my grandson. I have stayed every Christmas for the last 3 years; It truly is my home away from home. I make the staff look at pictures of my grandson, and they put up with me and even share their own stories. Extremely clean, great breakfast, and always attentive when necessary. I would stay no where else in South Bend.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer1404, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Maureen,

I want to say thank you from all of us at the Ivy Court! You have become like family to us and your stories and photos always make our day! (Not to mention all the amazing treats you bring for the staff to share!) As always, we look forward to your visit, and can't wait to see how the little guy has grown.

See you soon!

Jen Thomas & Lauren Pineda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Address: 1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Jamison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Court Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.