We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ivy Court Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holly Jolly Special
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrensburg, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

For a campus visit to Notre Dame, we booked the Ivy Court Hotel. It's very conveniently located, just off the southeast corner of campus, across from the baseball field. The hotel conjures up the feeling of a resort on some remote northern lake with its unique design and dark wooden beams in the room. They even had a nice roaring fire in the dining room. Breakfast was excellent.

The room was quite comfortable, very clean and comes with a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. The flat screen was large enough to see from the beds, and the beds were just right. There are some fast food places up the road to the east and just west toward the campus entrance is a new "college town" atmosphere with apartments and restaurants. Try O'Rourke's Irish pub, right across from the main drive into campus for good food and beer, including a nice list of local and regional craft beers from Indiana and Michigan, both of which have some excellent brewers such as Three Floyd's and Bell's.

Overall, a great value for the money, especially after having driven down from a stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    49
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
100
46
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was very pleased with my stay here. I was traveling with a few visitors from Japan and we had stayed at the Sherraton the night before and they prefered this hotel over the Sherraton. The rooms were larger and well maintained. I thought the Sherraton beds were better but overall for the price paid this was a great stay. The one thing i must tell you is the breakfast was by far the very best N/C breakfast I have ever had at a hotel.
Fresh cooked eggs and breakfast potatoes were included. We ate on real plates with real flatware. Drank fresh juice from a glass not a plastic cup.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Breakfast is great. There's some yummy salsa that obviously does not come from a jar. Rooms are large and comfortable, very pleasant. Staff was friendly.

Downside: The walk to campus is 15 minutes of concrete. Lots of stadiums and stadium parking lot. At first I thought the university was ugly looking, until one morning I woke up and went for a run north of the university, near the lakes. The university is quite nice when approaching from the north, but the southern part not so much. Make sure you check out the north part of the university

Downside: Both treadmills appeared to be broken. That would be OK when it's not freezing out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ivy Court is a charming, welcoming stay that doesn't disappoint. While it may not be the most modern of hotels, the warm reception from the staff and delicious breakfast is worth the trade. We can't wait to go back to South Bend and stay here again! Simply lovely!

Room Tip: Room 306 had a great view of Notre Dame's Touchdown Jesus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I lived at Ivy Court for 6 years Monday through Friday, I would not even think of staying any where else. My professional life has changed and I don't travel now but when I visit South Bend I still stay at ivy Court. The staff is great. And they have cookies too. The bed and breakfast style is very comfortable.The room has a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The rooms are always clean. The rooms are well maintained with nice furniture. The daily breakfast is great, beyond the usual cereal, waffles, and bagels, there were two kinds of eggs, both bacon and sausage, hash browns, and pancakes as well. Everyone there treated me better than family. That was not something that grew with time, that was there the first day I stayed at the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My stay at Ivy Court was fantastic. The Front Desk saved my trip not once, but twice! First Katie found a phone charger for me (I had left mine at home and my battery was completely dead). Then John was able to return my missing car keys to me. I didn't even realize I had lost them! But when another guest turned them in, he was able to figure out they belonged to my car parked outside and traced the license plates to me. Wow!!

On top of that, your location relative to Notre Dame's stadiums is ideal. I was in town for hockey, basketball, and women's basketball. I was able to walk to the stadiums easier than driving the one block.

The hotel was clean and well decorated, had all the standard amenities, and the free breakfast was outstanding. I even got a kick out of the University of Alaska hockey team, who were also guests at Ivy Court that weekend. Too bad they beat up on ND.

I will definitely be staying at Ivy Court again. You guys are the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Ivy Court again while visiting family.

We can never say enough. Our room was great and the breakfast was amazing!!

The service is always great even when checking in late at night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Address: 1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Jamison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Court Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.