We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Close to Campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ivy Court Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life Special
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice Place Close to Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at several places near the Notre Dame campus in South Bend and this is one of the nicest. The rooms are relatively large and quiet. They have a small kitchenette with refrigerator, sink and microwave. The room rates are quite reasonable The breakfasts are hot and good.
What is particularly noteworthy about this place is the attentive staff. They have no shuttle service
but one of the managers took us to a bus stop with her own private car - very impressive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    51
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
50
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynes Fort, IN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As I'm in South Bend a lot I decided to try the IVY Court. The check in was easy and the people nice. Going to the room across the parking lot I was initially surprised how dark it was. There's a really nice round table and chairs but absolutely no adequete light to even consider reading a paper by. We could live with that and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room but the stay was unpleasant as the heater is just a few inches from the side of the bed blowing hot dry air in your face everytime it comes on. After trying for hours to sleep and getting a nice sinus headache I had to go to the hide-a-bed. So much for the nice huge comfortable bed
A simple rearrangement of the room with the bed away from the blast furnace heater and adequete lighting to read would make this room a 4.5 and a place to return to ( not as is )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a double double room and was very pleased with how much space we had. Very reasonably priced, nice furnishings, clean, so close to the Notre Dame campus. Beds were very comfortable. Hot Breakfast was very good. Had real plates and silverware for eating there or paper products if you wanted it to go or take it to your room. Found the staff to be professional, yet personal. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way from Pittsburgh to Iowa. I hadn't been to South Bend so we thought this would be a great half-way point. We see why this hotel is ranked #1!!! We had originally booked a different hotel, but changed to Ivy Court Inn based on ranking and reviews.


The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming, giving us good suggestions of places to eat. Our room was well-appointed with a great combination of character, style, amenities. The bathroom was all white tile and spotless. My only complaint is that the shower head needed to be replaced, but the gleaming white walls, tile, and floor made up for the eroded shower head.

The pillows were good and breakfast the next morning was fantastic and high quality. The staff was friendly.

We would absolutely recommend the Ivy Court Inn for value, quality, location and overall experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were finishing a North American trip and decided to spend a night in South Bend. After reviewing recent comments on Trip Advisor we booked a night at the Ivy Court Inn and Suites. It was rated #One and I know the reason. Excellent Service, Location and Comfort.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by front desk staff who were genuine and took the time to offer information and provided a map of the University Notre Dame. Delicious fresh made cookies and coffee are always available.We were given a very nice King Bed Suite with a view of Notre Dame that is located right across the street. The room and bed were clean and very comfortable.

Breakfast was fresh and well stocked buffet. It was really nice to use real silverware and plates and mugs for our coffee instead of the plastic and paper plates used at most hotels.

The location is excellent for those visiting Notre Dame. The University grounds and sports history is awesome as is a visit to the absolutely beautiful Basilica of the Sacred Heart, and the Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes.

Our only regret is that we only stayed one night at the Ivy Court Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 20-A with a view of University of Notre Dame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ivy Court Inn and Suites sits quietly nearby to the Notre Dame campus.( We were there during mid-week, and I don't imagine it would be as quiet on a football weekend). The hotel is very clean, the help is polite and attentive, the breakfast is excellent with a good selection of hot items on a fresh buffet, and the water pressure was where it should be. The air conditioner was easy to adjust. Our room had a microwave, fridge, etc. Very comfortable,clean, attractive. We will stay here again when in South Bend..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. You could see "Touchdown Jesus" from our room window. Very nice and clean. Great breakfast hot bar! Convenient to the university and other places of interest. Great value! Employees helpful in providing directions and knowledge of amenities close by.

Room Tip: End room puts you away from traffic from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Address: 1404 Ivy Court, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Jamison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Court Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.