We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to Write Home About” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Ping House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ho Ping House
303 South Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3321
(574) 243-3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 259 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“Nothing to Write Home About”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

To use a Midwest expression, the place was certainly “nothing to write home about”. Also, the link on TripAdvisor to their web site takes you no where. It is either entered incorrectly or, most likely, they didn't pay the fee to keep it working since I couldn't find anything doing an on-line search! I had the Beef Chop Suey. The rice was lumpy and tasteless and not fried. The bean sprouts were ok. Other had the Ho Ping Lo Mein, which was very bland and required much soy sauce, mustard, and duck sauce for any taste. Noodles were like fettuccini rather than lo mein in both look and texture? Both of us had egg rolls, which required lots of duck sauce. The hot and sour soup tasted weird, and none of those dipping, crunchy things was provided to put in the soup. Fortune cookie was the best part of the meal. The sign out front said discount for hotel guests, but that doesn’t apply to the lunch menu-bait and switch false advertising, in my opinion! We had planned to order additional food to take back to the hotel for later but quickly changed our minds once we tasted the food. Most of the clientele was over 70 so maybe they keep the food bland and low in sodium for them! Definitely will not return next time at ND event.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We LOVE Ho Ping House. We usually go there for ALL of our family celebrations, and many other times. Not a bad meal in the house. Prices very reasonable. Atmosphere rather fancy, dress code casual. Wait staff is wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ho-Ping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have eaten here many times, and the food is consistently good. Nice atmosphere, efficient wait staff and great tasting food. My favorites are beef pepper steak, beef with broccoli and sweet and sour chicken. Generous portions for lunch, which is when I usually go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“packed parking lot for a reason- yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stopped by while out of town to grab some takeout. Very good and very generous portions. I had the sweet and sour chicken and it was my dinner and lunch the next day. Wish I had this place in my hometown so I could have it more often. They gave a 10% discount for takeout. Since I was staying in a hotel I forgot to ask for plastic silverware, if you need it, be sure to ask. YUMMY YUMMY!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice in the last month and had great experiences both times. Very friendly employees and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Ping House also viewed

 

Been to Ho Ping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Ping House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.