We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-Ping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho Ping House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ho Ping House
303 South Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3321
(574) 243-3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 259 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ho-Ping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have eaten here many times, and the food is consistently good. Nice atmosphere, efficient wait staff and great tasting food. My favorites are beef pepper steak, beef with broccoli and sweet and sour chicken. Generous portions for lunch, which is when I usually go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“packed parking lot for a reason- yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stopped by while out of town to grab some takeout. Very good and very generous portions. I had the sweet and sour chicken and it was my dinner and lunch the next day. Wish I had this place in my hometown so I could have it more often. They gave a 10% discount for takeout. Since I was staying in a hotel I forgot to ask for plastic silverware, if you need it, be sure to ask. YUMMY YUMMY!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice in the last month and had great experiences both times. Very friendly employees and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

While visiting my son at Notre Dame he suggested we have dinner at Ho Ping and a good suggestion it was. The service was very good and the food was excellent. The location was convenient as well. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I eat here about once a month, and it is always a treat. I keep meaning to try other dishes, but the General Tso's Chicken is so good, I always end up ordering that. I grabbed some of my daughter's Honey Chicken today, however, and it was also very good. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Ping House also viewed

 

Been to Ho Ping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho Ping House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.