We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studebaker National Museum

Studebaker National Museum
201 S. Chapin St, South Bend, IN 46601
888-391-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Attractions in South Bend
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tribute to the now-defunct Studebaker automobile exhibits over 75 vehicles that span the 114-year history of the company, from the Studebaker family's Conestoga Wagon to the final car to roll off the assembly line.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Going back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would suggest you get directions to the museum. It's now located in a new venue, definitely worth the trip. The car, oh my the cars. Takes one back in time when the Studebaker ruled the city. We learned that a group of local citizens were highly involved in the museum, bravo. Worth the trip, combine with the History Museum and the Oliver Mansion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    51
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Homer
1 review
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We knew nothing about this place and just stumbled upon it. It has the "WOW" factor all over it. Price is right to. A must see if you are in South Bend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Non Gear Heads will also like this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As you would expect, there are plenty of vintage cars here. So those interested in older autos will find this of serious interest. But there is a lot more here than just cars as those who coordinate this museum demonstrate a love of history as well. For the military buff, there is much to see. For the person interested in the era before cars, there are wagons, many elaborate, all manufactured by Studebaker. And be sure to leave time to visit the Oliver Mansion and have a pleasant meal in the restaurant. We are from Illinois and were pleasantly surprised by the variety of displays and how well they are maintained. This museum was a destination site for us.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is a must for history buffs and car lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am a 30 year resident of SouthBend, and humbly am ashamed that we just made our first visit to this great museum on the occasion of out of town visiting guests. It is a fantastic museum, extremely well done, and full of interesting displays. There are three floors just in the Studebaker portion of the museum, then attached is another museum of history plus the beautiful Oliver Mansion. The Studebaker Museum features the first wagons built in SB , popular and preferred by pioneers for their quality construction, beautiful buggies including the carriage that carried Lincoln to the theatre that fateful nite of his assassination, several other presidential buggies, then the early cars. For both car buffs and lay people. - the displays of beautifully restored automobiles is incredible. Fun to see and really for business people, exemplifies a real story: Studebaker was the only wagon company of 5000 companies that successfully made the transition to large scale automobile construction ( I think I have my facts right by memory). The auto display was really intriguing, they have on display all kinds of old cars, a hearse, historic racing cars, and the story of Studebaker cars built in SB until 1963. And for history and military students, very good displays of the company's contribution to the defending of our country. The full size displays showed
wagons used for military support during WWI and the heavy truck equipment built during WWII when the company retooled to support the war effort.
Pictures showed an integrated company, women working the giant factory along with men in all kinds of manufacturing roles, Black and white, working alongside each other. The UAW starting in 1937. There also were display elements of all the companies that historically were a part of South Bends manufacturing legacy including Oliver plows, Singer sewing machine, Wheelabrator , South Bend Range, OBrien Paint, Bendix engines... What a rich heritage for northern Indiana. And all known for their quality products built by hardworking skilled men and women who migrated here from all parts of the world for work and opportunity from the late 19th century onward.
You will enjoy. Right next door is the beautifully furnished Oliver Mansion .
For out of town guests, treat yourself to this great museum, then enjoy lunch right a block away at Tippecanoe Place , a huge mansion built by the Studebakers and turned into a lovely restaurant.
South Bend has a lot to offer. This is a real gem and will be fun for the whole family. And of course , the gift shop gives you a chance to take a souvenir home. If you really want to mingle with other Studebaker enthusiasts, come to the annual car show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Studebaker Museum is well worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Studebaker museum was an awesome collection of vintage Studebakers and other related antique motor vehicle related items. Many vehicles from all eras made this museum a great stop for my wife and the kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studebaker National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Studebaker National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studebaker National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.