We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.W. Chen's

J.W. Chen's
1835 South Bend Avenue, South Bend, IN 46637
574 271-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 259 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Found this restaurant online and read trough this review column. So we decided to try it out based on all the previous reviews. Turns out food is really good. Service is excellent, and food is very fresh! Atmosphere is average, and is a small place, but would definatley recommend!! Really close to university of ND.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    25
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Please don't go here... So I can keep getting in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just to qualify my self, I've eaten Chinese cuisine in a lot of different places. As you might imagine, the food in Hong Kong was exceptional, placing many "Chinese" restaurants in the States in perspective! Susannah Foo's in Philadelphia was another amazing meal. That said, I can safely say that this smallish out-of-the-way Chinese restaurant in a smallish Midwestern town is truly some of the best Chinese food I have ever eaten.

There is not much to add to other reviews: fresh ingredients, friendly service (she really does sit down at your table with you!), and amazing flavors.

My suggestion, don't order from the menu. When Ms. Chen asks what you want, give her some general ideas (We like pork, we don't like shellfish) and let her run with it. We have yet to be disappointed. Two dishes I'd recommend you asking for by name: Pork Belly with Chinese Vegetables (not always available) and Crispy Sea Bass with Black Vinegar Sauce (divine!).

The location is deceptive, the decor is basic (one reviewer said "spartan") but it's clean and comfortable. Dress is casual. Service is pleasant but not stuffy. But the food... the food is amazing!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pa.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we had dinner here while in South Bend. What a treat to have the owner actually sit down with us and talk about what we liked to eat - menu be damned! She'd cook what we liked. Our twelve year old that that was pretty cool. And, the food was delicious. Almond shrimp was great we even received some fresh green beans compliments of the chef. The restaurant itself is small, and average in decor. Don't go for the ambiance - go for the food.

I did think it was a bit expensive, but my wife thought not. There were four of us, and we all had entres, two appitizers, and 4 drinks. I think our bill was 70 bucks.

Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenville il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the best Chinese restaurant I've been to. The owner was very friendly. Listen to her food recommendation. We had fish w/ vinegar and lamb w/ cumin, homemade potstickers and a beef dish on the house that is similar to orange beef but sooo much better. I even want to go back to south bend just because of this place. Really good!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“By far the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Decor is pleasant but quite spartan. People come here for the food and Jean's personal stamp she puts on everything. She sits and explains the menu and makes you feel like she is cooking just for you. The recipes are phenomenal. Hot and sour soup among the best I've ever had. Almond shrimp is another favorite. So light but so rich. She also has a greenbean appetizer she is proud of and rightly so. I almost always see one table or more of Chinese students from ND. This is a great local gem.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.W. Chen's also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to J.W. Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.W. Chen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.