We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-around great find.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J.W. Chen's

J.W. Chen's
1835 South Bend Avenue, South Bend, IN 46637
574 271-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 266 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All-around great find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The service was excellent- on point, warm and friendly without being overbearing. The chef let the meats, seafood and vegetables speak for themselves- no abuse of sodium or artificial favorings. The dishes were varied in flavor, texture and degree of spice unlike many "Asian" restaurants. Price was more than fair. For a drink, two appetizers, and two entrees we spent $40 including a 20% tip. Would definitely go there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    25
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, MI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A great place for a special occasion dinner. Food is great and the owner usually there to greet you. Bathrooms could use a little work, but nothing to keep you from coming back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“"Don't miss out on the Almond Shrimp"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

After discovering that J.W. Chen's was rated #1 in South Bend for restaurants, I had to give it a try. I was not disappointed. I told Jean that I liked chicken and vegetables and so I ordered that even though she recommended the Almond Shrimp. To my surprise, she sent an order of the Almond Shrimp to our table "on the house" for me to try along with my original order. It was so delicious I don't think I will order anything else. It has become my new favorite restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't fall for the "I'll make you something special"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I'd like to first start out with the fact that the food is exceptional. Service is quick and the prices are reasonable, EXCEPT the pricing on the dishes when the owner says, "I'll make you something special". On Sunday, we stopped in for a quick lunch and learned that they do not have lunch specials on Sundays. Given that, we chose a couple of inexpensive dishes from the main menu (we were going to an expensive dinner that evening and just wanted something low-cost to get us through the afternoon). The owner came to the table and when we ordered she said that she would make us something quick. Much to our surprise the two "special dishes" were twice the price of what we had intended to pay from the main menu. I'm not saying 'don't eat at J.W. Chen's'; just saying, "ask the price of the 'special' dish if you are budget-conscious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB
1 review
“Food Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The quality of food is excellent and proportions are appropriate.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.W. Chen's also viewed

 

Been to J.W. Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.W. Chen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.