We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sangrias Wine Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sangrias Wine Bar
123 North Michigan Street, South Bend, IN
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good place. Tables are a little tight and the interior echoes sound making private conversation difficult. Fair priced good menu choices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An experimental pan-Latin delight that has gone through some growing pains and emerged a winner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Sangria's is the brain child of a young entrepreneur local to the area who wants to put South Bend on the map by offering something truly unique.

I have to give a nod to the fact that there have been patches during which the Sangria's fell short on service and organization during its expansion to include a night club.

The great news is that the Sangria's I loved for outstanding food and warm personalized attention at reasonable cost is BACK!! Once again it is my favorite place to eat and hang out with friends in the area.

Food: the specials are hard to beat. I had a 5 tapas matched with 5 wines for $20. The chef (of former Summit Club) came out to talk to me because I am vegetarian and he customized the special so I could enjoy all 5. It was delicious and the wine tour was really fun. We stayed for hours and everyone was very thrilled with their entrees and the experience overall. It was a no brainer to cruise to the other side of the venue after dinner to enjoy the patio the dj and some more tasty drinks!

I am a fairly discriminating diner. I grew up on the west coast and got spoiled early by the incredible array of excellent international cuisine. Sangria's does the trick for me when I want really fresh really flavorful Latin American food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit and miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The food is hit or miss here... Some days it's greasy And fatty other days it can be great crispy and delicious... Also I think the pricing is kind of shady... Sometimes i can take days before you can get ahold of anyone..so for me this restaurant has some learning to do

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We Love Sangria's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sangria's has been a hit with us since it opened. We love the ambiance that is what used to be Noma and the service is always great. The bartender has been great about coming to our table for drink pairing recommendations and suggestions. The food is always hot, inspired, and changing. The only thing I could suggest to be wary of is the club that takes place later in the evening in the front of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Downtown Mexican cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place has a very nice atmosphere. Great sangrias.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangrias Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangrias Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.