We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 East Angela Boulevard, South Bend, IN 46616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sports Fan Package
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You don't get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

While I expected to pay a steep premium for a hotel this close to campus, I didn't expect the lackluster, inconsistent service, especially considering I'm a Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member. My family and I stayed here 2 nights in the same week while dropping off/picking up our boys from ND camps. The first stay started with our room to being ready for check in until after 5pm. This was after a half day of driving and watching numerous customers being checked in ahead of us. Did I mention I have Platinum Elite status? We received a discounted rate, so that puts the review above average. The second stay started with an early checking...good. Then for breakfast there was an incomplete buffet. I guess they only provide a full buffet on the weekends. These service experiences are unacceptable regardless of one's status. The location, however, is excellent-walking distance to Eddy St Commons and campus...and why they charge so much. Disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear ParkDownUnder,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. It is regretful to hear that you experienced inconsistent service and incomplete breakfast. We are currently in the process of investigating the issues you have expressed and putting corrective action in place so that the instances you have experienced do not occur again. We greatly apologize for the uninspiring stay and would be thrilled to make it up to you and your family.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to fulfill all of the Fairfield Inn Promises for you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
7
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for Football Fantasy Camp week. Excellent facility, very clean , efficient staff and across the street from UND. Could be difficult getting rooms during football season due to its proximity to the campus, you can see the stadium. From east side rooms !

Room Tip: Good luck during football season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Mr. Cowan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed the Football Fantasy Camp at Notre Dame. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel. Clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great - my favorites were hot waffles and Del Monte grapefruit slices! Nice breakfast area for hanging out. Location is great - right across the street from Notre Dame and adjacent to a nice little shopping/restaurant area. All of that said, we have been there twice on a non-football weekend and rates were reasonable (I think around $179). I don't think it would be worth football weekend prices (around $400). Yikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and are also glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast. We strive to ensure your stay was pleasant and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank You again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Most reasonably prices Indiana hotels are worn out as are their staffs
The Fairfield / Notre Dame is a welcome contrast and is very well run!
First it is super clean and the staff is as welcoming and eager to help, one would believe they are in the far eats. Good attitudes.
My two demands for a hotel room are a firm bed and a generous shower They score A+ on both counts
Their rooms are modern and easy to operate. In short you do not need a Ph.D to use the TV or lights.... or shower sounds familiar Hoteliers are going high tech and the guests are FORCED to comply/ suffer.

They are across the street from a good shopping center and a few yards from many restaurants … their breakfast was included in my room rate and was hot and tasty

Hard to complain and I am quite a critic

PTB Honolulu (former Chicago hotelier)

Room Tip: Ask for a room location what serves your needs..in advance and phone if running late and get the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ptb2929,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we appreciate the positive feed back! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay while at our property and gave us an A+ for our beds and showers. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future!

Happy Traveling,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off, the location is perfect for conducting business or atteniding events at ND. The exterior and lobby was very impressive. As for the rooms, they are very typical or Fairfield Inns. The furniture is fairly worn and I felt the rooms were pretty small. The thing that really blew my mind was the lack of outlets. This hotel opened in 2010 and I know tablets were just coming out then, but laptops, netbooks, and smart phones were prominent in 2010. I am surprised that they did not have more outlets in the room. I stayed there w/ my wife (2 ipads and 2 iphones). We had these devices all of the room (including the bathroom) to ensure we can charge these devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear imabuki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you found our furniture to be worn and that there weren’t enough outlets in your guest room. We know that locating outlets and light switches in guest rooms can be tricky at times with so many different layouts in different properties. For example, the lights on either side of the bed have two outlets located on the base. We are more than happy to help you locate an outlet or light switch, even an extension cord or power strip if needed. We would like to look into the wear on the furniture; if you would contact us on property we will definitely investigate the matter. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your wife in the near future.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this property earlier this week while traveling through the area. The hotel is very nice, clean, and modern. The staff was especially friendly and seemed happy to serve. My GPS must have been off as it sent me the wrong way. A phone call to Morgan quickly guided me in to a wonderful check-in. The room was great and I had an excellent sleep. Breakfast was just as good as you are able to make your own fresh belgian waffles on their self-serve griddle. Mine came out fantastic and the other items were fine too. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Trip117,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we love getting all the feed back we can from our guests! We are completely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our breakfast, and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy our NEW HOT breakfast buffet, no worries we are keeping the waffles-we know our guests love them! Thank you again for your review!

Happy Travels,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 2 night at this hotel in March to visit my daughter, at ND. I flew into Midway Airport in Chicago. It's a very easy 2 hour drive, however the address doesn't exist on the GPS. Once I arrived, the check -in was easy and the front desk person was very pleasant. Of course, it wasn't a football weekend so it was relatively empty. The free continental breakfast was better than I had expected. I was on the 5th floor the elevator was fast and the room was big and clean. The hotel is within walking distance to ND campus & football stadium and about 1 block away from restaurants on Eddy Street. I will be back, but probably not on football weekend- very, very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Fencingmomx2,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It saddens us that the GPS was not showing our location, and we are sure it caused you some frustration. This is something we continue to work on as maps and technologies get updated. It is lovely that you found our complimentary continental breakfast to exceed your expectations; we are preparing to roll out our NEW HOT BREAKFAST in April. It is something that the staff and management here are very excited to be able to offer our guests. So hopefully the next time that you are in town we will have the opportunity to serve you and your family again, and you can let us know how our New Breakfast is! Thank you again for your review.
Happy Travels,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Address: 1220 East Angela Boulevard, South Bend, IN 46616
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#8 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.