We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport but rough neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3916 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to airport but rough neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Expedia overbooked hotel and I was placed in their hold room which had an order and tv did not work

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    2
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
5
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very large and clean suites. The staff was very attentive and took care of my needs. With a full kitchen and large room space it really helps one feel at home. I'll be using this Candlewood and others from now on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on an overnight business trip as I had recently stayed for the first time at a Candlewood Suites in Irvine, CA due to my other preferred hotels being sold out . I enjoyed that stay enough that I thought I would give this Candlewood Suites a try,

My hot buttons are simple. Is the hotel clean? Is the hotel staff friendly and seem to care about their guests? Does the hotel have a decent sized exercize room? I like to work out on the road since I spend 100+ nights in hotels. The answers at this hotel were yes, yes, and yes.

Based on some of the other reviews that I read, I inquired if the hotel was under new management. The front desk clerk indicated the General Manager, Bruce, was fairly new to the hotel. I assume that he is correcting some of the previous service issues.

While I usually travel alone, the size of the rooms would make this a good place to stay when traveling with my wife and daughter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this location for a ND football game. We left Saturday morning for the game, and returned later in the evening to find that an ipod (that had be 'hidden' in a non-obvious location) had been stolen. I called the hotel to try to work through a solution. They suggested I file a police report and send to them, which I did. I then called them every week for a 9 months to follow up in an effort to recover the money lost for the ipod, and was consistently ignored. Phone calls were never returned, and nothing was done about it. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for Dyngus Day this way we were close to the halls. The room was very large, nice kitchen which has a full size fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, all the pots, pans, glasses, salt, peper, coffee mugs. Eveything you need. I wish we had a room like this while we were in Chicago a few days earlier. Our room was a King Suite, so we had a seperate living area(with a nice recliner) the bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I have been in. Kudos to the hotel staff!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We are looking for a place here in South Bend, Newly relocated due to my husbands job we stayed here with our 2, 3 and 16 year old..its been really nice. We got a 1 bed Suite and it has full kitchen and the room was very nice 2 tvs kids had one room we slept on sofa sleeper in living room flat screens and all--Our laundry was free and the place is really new so its clean ...it wasnt that full when we were there but its been great we have been here for a week leaving tommorow...wanted people to know---Im picky picky and this was a good pick for us--I would rate it like a 3-4 star becuase of the full kitchens granite marble tile and the gym laundry ect everything is high end not cheap motel hotel crap...goodluck!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We booked our hotel through Priceline and when we checked in we were given a room with a no-smoking logo outside of it and ashtrays in the room...it reeked of cigarette smoke. When we went to the front desk to ask for a different room, we were told that there were none available and that we had asked for a smoking room....which we did not.
Later that evening we checked with the front desk again and they had a room for us!
But...as we discovered the next morning - NO WORKING SHOWER...
Hmmmmmm...also the front desk was unattended on Saturday morning - NO ONE was there at all. Anyone could have walked in off the street and been in the hotel.
I will not stay here again. I called the hotel upon my return home and was told there was nothing that they could do.
At least Priceline gave me a $10 voucher...never again...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Address: 3916 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.