We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something has gone wrong” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trio's
129 N. Michigan Street, between Colfax Avenue and Washington Street, South Bend, IN 46601
574 288-TRIO(8746)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 253 restaurants in South Bend
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Colfax
Transit: Trio's is located near the intersection of two main streets, Michigan and Colfax. Public transportation stops are within walking distance of the restaurant.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Something has gone wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ate at Trios several times when our son was a student at nearby Notre Dame, but we hadn't been there for three years. In the interim, something has gone wrong. We made a reservation for a Thursday night. On arrival, we were informed that they were only serving a limited menu, supposedly because they were so busy with "banquets." The food we got was fine (tilapia and salmon), but the turtle cheesecake was tasteless. While the server was pleasant and attentive, there were no bread plates, and my wife's original coffee cup had a large and obvious lipstick smear on the rim. And there were some sort of flying ants in the men's restroom. All in all, this was a disappointment. We won't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    10
    13
    4
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We also had a group of people that made reservations for dinner before Wicked. We waited outside until after 5 to be let in. After 5 we knocked on the door to see when thy opened, and we were told 5, nastily, then they unlocked the door. We suggested they post their hours so that people know when they are open and was told that the management didnt want to post the hours, that the hours were on their website. We asked what if people didnt have access to the internet? The hostess just shrugged his shoulders and rolled his eyes. We asked if we could have a seat by the window and was told no, that all tables were booked. We were seated, and there was a very small menu on the table. I asked if that was all the items to choose from because i did review the menu on line and the item I wanted wasnt on the menu. I was told it was a limited menu for that night, and the website was outdated. (the same website we were to review for the hours of operation??!)
I ordered a drink, the glass was dirty. We ordered dinner, and there was no choice of sides, we got what was on the menu. For 19$ i got the smallest chicken breast Ive ever seen, 3 small fingerling potatoes, and a vegetable melody that consisted of one slice of zucchini, some red onions and some green and red peppers, all of which was a couple bites, and hardly constitutes a vegetable melody. Two out of the three chicken breasts were pink inside.
One person sent the whole dinner back and said she didnt like and couldnt eat he pink chicken. They never offered her anything else, and still charged her full price!
The best thing we ate was the cheesecake, and that was probably because it was store bought!
Also, the table by the window we wanted to sit at, sat unoccupied the whole 2 hrs we were there!
This was so disappointing, we will never go there again, nor will we ever recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A group of us went to Trio's after seeing Wicked. The show was a afternoon show. We went and had dinner somewhere else, but since the night was early thought we would go for drinks and extend our visit. We were seated quickly, noticed the bar area was pretty empty. The dining section was busy. There was a drink "recipe" laminated paper on each table, which we assumed was the drink menu. We started to order off of it, and were promptly laughed at and told that it was not a menu, just a paper they offered as reading material on what ingredients are in different drinks?? Ok. Then (at this martini bar), we ordered a martini, and were told, well we don't have martini glasses??!!! Tried to order a few other mixed drinks, but they were out of a few popular liquors. One of us ordered a beer, it was served warm, when she asked for a cold mug, of course, they didn't have one. Needless to say, after 1 drink, we were out of there. We also ran into a neighbor, and they had reservations on the dining side before the evening showing of Wicked, and sat for 30 minutes at the table.....and we're never waited on. We saw a few tables leave before they were waited on. It was horrible to watch. I am shocked that an opportunity to make good money and have new people in the downtown area for one of the biggest broadway acts in the country, that they would have been better prepared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stopped in for drinks after attending a matinee performance of Wicked at The Morris. There were people waiting for tables, some with reservations, as one person in our group knew one of the couples waiting. The 7 of us went to the bar area and sat down. We waited quite awhile for service. After a while we grabbed what we thought to be the drink menus while we waited for someone to take our order. We finally flagged someone down and a we were order we were told " we don't make any frozen drinks" when one person wanted to order a strawberry daiquiri and that the drink menu was really just a recipe guide! That's what we said WHAT?!!!! Then he came back and aid they didn't have any Malibu rum for the drinks we had ordered. So one girl ordered a Coors, I ordered a Cosmopolitan. He then came back and said they didn't have any martini glasses!!! A MARTINI BAR WITHOUT MARTINI GLASSES!!!! He served it to me in a water glass. My friend got her frosty Coors, not so frosty and asked for a frosted mug and....you guessed it THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY! He brought her another marginally cooler beer. The brief time we were sitting there, we noticed people leaving that had been seated...having never been served their food. We also noticed that there was not a bar tender behind the bar but the wait staff making their own drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AWFUL!!!! TERRIBLE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went for a special dinner before a show at the Morris Center, and they were out of most beers, wines and alcohol. 80% of the items on the menu were not available, as they had not restocked any food or drin in a long time. Absolutely horrid experience, felt sorry for the wait staff who were apologetic, but could not help the situation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio's also viewed

South Bend, IN
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Trio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.