We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nov 26-Dec 22, 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
800 South Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nov 26-Dec 22, 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my 4th visit to the Blue Gate Garden Inn in past year. It was great again. Everyone treated me as if I was one of them.
The entire hotel is very clean and quiet. The pool & spa were great. They had a beautiful patio area with a water fall fountain and a fire pit.
The ice cream parlor was open Friday & Saturday in winter months and the ice cream was very good.
I used the guest laundry & it was great.
The breakfast buffet it the best I've ever had in a motel or hotel. It has omelet bar-cooked to order, along with all the other items available. They have waffles you make-usually 2 flavors and gluten free by request, eggs, sausage patties, sausage gravy & biscuits, bread pudding, baked oatmeal, 3 kinds of bread, muffins from the BG Restaurant, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, apple juice, orange juice, milk & 4 kinds of dry cereal. More than enough seating on busy morning.
They went above & beyond their duties. I over slept one day & they called the room to check on me and brought breakfast to me. They also surprised me on my birthday. The entire staff are very friendly and would bend over backwards to help.
The hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas inside & out. It's beautifully decorated year round,
Overall-SUPER!!!!!!!!
I'm planning to come back for Easter.

Room Tip: They have rooms to accommodate any size family. They also have handicap rooms. Elevators for those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    59
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
81
77
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is in the perfect location and one of the nicest places we've stayed anywhere. The new pool area is awesome and the common areas are beautifully furnished. The hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas both inside and out.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to spend time with family and friends. Lost of space to hang out, talk, and have privacy at the same time. Room was big enough for our 7 person family to all stay together. Will definitely do this again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the nicest all-around hotels I have stayed at. Our room was super spacious and extremely clean! The breakfast was amazing...there is tons to choose from! I would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannelburg, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was our first stay at the Blue Gate Garden Inn and we were impressed with the quality service, the spacious quiet rooms and the awesome complimentary breakfast buffet.......which included an omelet bar......!! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel in central Shipshewana. Quaint town and first class accommodations. Clean and modern but the insulation between the walls left a little to be desired. Fortunately the over 50 crowd is rather quiet. Excellent buffet breakfast

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A spur of the moment pleasure trip with friends to Shipshewana found us at The Blue Gate for a Friday evening. Since we did not plan this excursion we were a bit apprehensive about the accommodations. Once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the facility and the level of service considering the price we paid. We had asked for a standard "King" room but due to the fact that they didn't have any left, they upgraded us to a "mini-suite". Nicely appointed room with bright modern furnishings and a very comfortable King bed. Separate sitting area with a love seat and a large flat panel HD tv, mini kitchen with frig, sink, microwave and coffee maker. All which actually worked flawlessly. Bathroom was super clean (a pet peeve for my wife) and the shower had plenty of water pressure for showering (a pet peeve of mine).
Another pleasant surprise was the full breakfast bar included in the price of the room. Most "breakfast included" places have some donuts, bagels, coffee and juice but not much in the line of hot food, served in a small room off the lobby that can hardly seat a fraction of the hotel occupancy. Not at The Blue Gate. Fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles, eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits (to die for), made to order omelettes along with a variety of juices and great coffee plus more were offered here and were always plentiful and fresh. The huge breakfast room and adjoining overflow room could easily seat 100+ guests. Obviously we had no trouble finding a table as the service staff was there to clear a table as soon as someone left.
We had a great stay and look forward to our return trip.

Room Tip: Book a "mini-suite" if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Address: 800 South Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include a full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.