We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are going to Shipshe, definitely stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
800 South Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
1 review
“If you are going to Shipshe, definitely stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I just got back from an extended stay at the Blue Gate. From someone who stays in a lot of hotels, this is a great one. The facilities were well kept, everything was very clean and the free coffee and breakfast were a definite plus. The staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating; from the maids all the way up to the owners. If you need anything at all, just ask for Brittainy, the manager, and rest-assured she will take care of it for you. I am looking forward to the new pool coming this summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving your valuable feedback. We appreciate the comments on our staff and cleanliness of the hotel. It is our pleasure to provide the complimentary coffee and full breakfast buffet to every guest. We are very excited about the new pool coming in the near future and hope you will be able come back and visit to enjoy it. Thank you for your patronage to the Blue Gate Garden Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    63
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
85
92
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome City, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Blue Gate Garden Inn. What an awesome place. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was impressive with both hot and cold options and everything was fresh and delicious. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our property and appreciate the wonderful feedback. Thank you for the comment about the cleanliness of our hotel as our housekeepers work very hard to make sure every guest has a clean and comfortable room. We are delighted you enjoyed our full breakfast buffet and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was lucky to book this at the last minute for an additional 10%off the rate--it was called a late night special. The hotel is very clean, with a spacious lobby. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They have coffe and tea in the lobby for guests convenience. I was there on business, and took my husband with me. He was able to enjoy the breakfast buffet--he said is was great. As I had left the hotel prior to breakfast, my husband did not have transportation to the restaurant. The restaurant was a few blocks away--which we did not realize upon checking in. The staff was very nice and offered to have one of the staff drive him to the restaurant.
The room was very nice and large enough to really spread out and be comfortable. The hallways are quite wide. The hotel seems more like a private inn. The decor has a cozy feel to it. It is definitely not a 'cookie cutter' type of establishment. The management and atmosphere certainly has a personal touch.
We are looking forward to going back again soon. Very well priced as well!

Room Tip: The Amish country does not have Sunday business/shopping as such. However, Monday is back to a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with others and leaving such kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary coffee station and breakfast buffet. We take pride in our property and we appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and our accommodating staff. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and we are very grateful for your positive feedback. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My team and I have had a wonderful experience staying at the Blue Gate Garden Inn. The owner and his staff are very friendly and courteous. The accommodations are clean and rooms are spacious. A very comfortable bed and the morning breakfast buffet will have you started on the right foot each day. The new pool construction has begun, something to look forward to on the return trip this summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. The pool construction has started and we are very excited to offer this amenity next year. We look forward to your return trip next summer and thank you again for staying at the Blue Gate Garden Inn. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

First i was amazed when I first walked in, very big and beautiful and clean, the check in was was very pleasant, the lady behind the desk was Tina V., who was very professional. My stay was a nice relaxing time. My room was a beautiful single room, with a couch and a fridge, which was nice. I will defiantly stay there again, if staff is nice it makes the stay so much better.I didn't want to leave
it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Your comments will be passed along to our staff. Next time, please plan a longer trip to stay with us and you can relax a bit longer. We hope to see you again in the near future. Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very clean quiet and comfortable large hotel. Met one of the owners and learned that the water park that was part of the previous owner business is closed permanently but the new owners have pland to add an indoor pool. Overall it was very clean and quiet. Hot brekfast was OK and included waffles fruit sausage and biscuits.

Room Tip: No reason to think it would be a problem but the hotel was nearly empty when we were there and did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGateGardenInn, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property and leave your valuable feedback. Ours plans for the pool are in progress and we are looking forward to the projected opening date at the end of March 2014. We appreicate that you mentioned the cleanliness of our hotel and the variety we have to offer on the hot breakfast. Thank you for staying at the Blue Gate Garden Inn and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an excellent experience at Blue Gate Garden Inn. The hotel lobby was decorated for Christmas and as we found out all the hotel was decorated throughout. Check in was a snap since we had reservations. The staff were all above expectation in every way possible. We plan to go back in the future when there is more going on in the community. We were there first part of November. Some businesses were still open and some places to eat. You won't regret staying at this hotel. The breakfast bar is wonderful from the waffle bar to the biscuits, gravy, eggs, sausage, and please try the Amish peanut butter. It is peanut butter mixed with marshmallow creme. Delicious. Our room had a beautiful quilt and pillow shams on it. A small sitting area and a small kitchenette.

Room Tip: Our room was large and had frig, microwave, TV. ironing board & iron. Large bathroom, sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Address: 800 South Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include a full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.