We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and big portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery

Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery
195 N Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565
888-447-4725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 restaurants in Shipshewana
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Description: When the newly built Blue Gate Restaurant & Bakery opened it doors on August 4th, 2001 in Shipshewana, the entire town was invited over for dinner. As one of Indiana's largest restaurants, the Blue Gate comfortably seats 600 (more than the town's population). Built to reflect the surrounding community, the Blue Gate resembles a rambling white farmhouse, similar to those that dot the surrounding Amish coutnryside.An award winning restaurant serving a world famous Family-style meal that features pressure fried chicken and 3 other meats, real mashed potatoes, Amish noodles, plus lots of other sides and 25 varieties of pies to choose from
Middlebury, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a carb-lovers dream. Chicken, potatoes, dressing, noodles, everything is great. I like the chicken at Essenhaus (few miles over in middlebury) a little bit better, but Blue Gate has the best pies in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    221
    86
    44
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis< IN
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were a little disappointed in our visit to The Blue Gate Restaurant. Don't get me wrong the food was very good but it didn't have the atmosphere I've experienced in other Amish restaurants I visited in North East Ohio and Pennsylvania. Since there was only 2 of us we did not order the family styled dinners but ordered individual dinners from their menu. Both dinners were very good like you would expect from any good restaurant. The staff was very good and accommodating. We even bought some items from their bakery after dinner.
My suggestion to others would be to sit at a table instead of a booth and order one of the family styled dinners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stryker, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simple but delicious Amish-style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had a ham and cheese sandwich. How could you improve on something so simple? Yet, they did! I don't know what was different about it but the cheese was perfectly melted throughout the ham. It was wonderful.

Also, Amish peanut butter is a feature in all of the Shipshewana restaurants. AMAZING! The endless dinner rolls loaded with this peanut butter are the best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plenty of Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent the day in Shipshewana shopping for Christmas. We decided on the Blue Gate for a large lunch so we didn't have to stop again for dinner. May I say it was large! We ordered the fried chicken and roast beef, family style. It started out with bread and either Amish Peanut Butter of Applebutter, followed by a salad, then came our main course, and as much as we could eat.
Chicken, beef, chicken and dumplings, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing and green beans, and ended with a choice of about 15 different pies. Service was good and reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ate here for the second time, and knew what to expect. I recommend the family style dinner. It is plentiful and includes an ample desert that you can take with. Service is good. Overall, a pretty good value for the money and excellent food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.