We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery

Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery
195 N Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565
888-447-4725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 restaurants in Shipshewana
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Description: When the newly built Blue Gate Restaurant & Bakery opened it doors on August 4th, 2001 in Shipshewana, the entire town was invited over for dinner. As one of Indiana's largest restaurants, the Blue Gate comfortably seats 600 (more than the town's population). Built to reflect the surrounding community, the Blue Gate resembles a rambling white farmhouse, similar to those that dot the surrounding Amish coutnryside.An award winning restaurant serving a world famous Family-style meal that features pressure fried chicken and 3 other meats, real mashed potatoes, Amish noodles, plus lots of other sides and 25 varieties of pies to choose from
Columbus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Park8ing was a problem, but then a 30 foot motorhome is not easy to park in most small lots. Food was very good, but pricey in my opinion. Service was good for the crowd that was in the place at the time eating when we were there. Might suggest not going when the flea market is open and it might be less crowded.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    223
    86
    44
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia City IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great "home cooking"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food here was great. We had the chicken and noodles with mashed potatoes. It came with a salad and freshly baked bread. We did not get the "family-style", but chose individual servings instead. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough room for the homemade pie. But, we did walk through the bakery and there were so many things to choose from. The shops in this "Amish Country" community are also gteat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Full too soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to the restaurant to sample some of the 25 flavors of pie offered. After the generous portions of food for our lunch choices, we could not try the pie! This restaurant is very busy and the wait for a table is long, but the service was pleasant and personal. Also, we purchased some of our favorite souvenirs in the resaurant lobby.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSTON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food! Reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had the family-style dinner, although individual servings are also available. The food was delicious. We had the friend chicken which was home-style, not a KFC look-alike. Several other meats are also available. You can order more of each dish and select from 20+ pies and other desserts! Everyone at the table has to have family-style OR individual choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfort food to the max”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very popular place with good reason. Wait for a table was 20 minutes on a Saturday afternoon. Service was attentive. The food was worth the wait. We had the turkey dinner special of the day. We were very satisfied. Dinner for two was $30 plus tip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gate Restaurant and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.