We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a Peaceful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast

Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipshewana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4685 N 900 W, Shipshewana, IN 46565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Shipshewana B&B and Inns
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really a Peaceful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Peaceful Acres - this B&B has beautiful and quiet surroundings.
Mary Jane is a great host who takes her time to speak to her guests and answer all the questions you might have about the area. This B&B is a recommendable place to stay while in Shipshewana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, IN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I have never stayed in a B&B so we thought we would try a new experience. We chose Peaceful Acres based on Tripadvisor. It was an excellent choice. Mary Jane truly was like family. We explained this was our B&B and she told us that part of the whole experience is the other guests, however we were the only guests the 2 nights we stayed there. But that was okay. We had a leisurely, absolutely delicious breakfast, yes 3 courses and good conversation before starting our day shopping in Shipshewana. It was really nice just having the 3 of us. Our hostess had lots of tips for things to see and information about the Amish people. We found the Amish to be quite interesting and I have a much better understanding of their lifestyle. In many ways I wish we could live so simply. After a day out, there was a sitting room we could read or do puzzles if we didn't want to stay in our room. (We had booked the Heritage Suite which had 2 chairs to read in). Mary Jane visited with us a little about our day at the end of the evening. The second day we had another 3 course breakfast, again delicious and more lovely conversation. Mary Jane had written a cookbook with wonderful stories in it. The stories are pretty inspirational. I suggest if you stay here you purchase the book. All the proceeds to towards hunger relief and since our daughter works for our Food Bank in Northwest Indiana, we thought it would be a good investment. The house is extremely clean and comfortable. Lots of different birds to watch and paths to walk outside. It is just about 5 minutes from downtown and when you get to Peaceful Acres it really is peaceful and quiet. I am usually funny about staying places because I want to make sure the rooms are super clean and I don't wonder who stayed there before me. This place doesn't even conjure up those thoughts at all. Mary Jane herself is inspirational. She says a prayer before the meal and there is a calm for the rest of the day. I would highly recommend this B&B. If I ever get back to Shipshewana my husband and I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own bathroom except for the Schoolroom but the schoolroom bathroom is right acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Peaceful Acres is just that. Most people travel up north to get away. We go to Shipshewana and Peaceful Acres. Mary Jane is the greatest host and as soon as you walk in you feel like one of her family members. You will not get a better breakfast anywhere. It is so clean and relaxing. You will see deer and other animals. You get to meet so many different people. Our stay this time we got to meet a couple from Spain. If you go just once you will want to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Every year Shipshewana has a Quilt Festival in June that myself and 5 quilting friends look forward to. It has always been a great time, and this year was no exception. One of the reasons we look forward to it is our stay at Peaceful Acres. Our hostess, Mary Jane Hoober, could not be more gracious and welcoming. After staying with her the last several years, we count her as a very good friend. The morning breakfast is unbelievable. There is something new and wonderful to enjoy every morning, and I'm not just talking about the food. The table setting is also different and so beautiful, using antique stemware and dinnerware, and even at times her own wedding china. There are even crystal napkin rings that each hold a small fresh flower. She goes out early and gathers fresh flowers for the table, doing her own creative arrangements. The food is wonderful, and she is very willing to share her recipes. The meal is always started with a blessing. Each room has a different theme and is very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. She is happy to give out information on area activities and things you might enjoy. The landscaping includes extensive grounds with plantings of shrubs, flowers and many, many trees. There are paths leading to a vegetable and flower garden with benches to rest on, and also to a gazebo. The property is surrounded by farmland and many Amish homes. Such a pretty setting. I am looking forward to "coming home" again next year!!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the Garden Room on the lower level with a small patio outside the sliding gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mary Jane is your host, but when you get there you feel like long lost cousins. Mary Jane says to make yourself at home when you're there, but she lets you set the pace. She is friendly, outgoing and the best host you could ask for. If you want to chat or just ask for directions, she doesn't make you feel as if you're imposing.

The rooms are very nice and comfortable and her home and gardens are very beautiful. We stayed in the School House room (Mary Jane is a retired school teacher). She has lots of nice flowers and plants in her garden and bird's are constantly visiting the feeders. I could have spent all day just photographing the flowers and birds (especially humming birds).

Mary Jane has coffee, tea, and cookies available during the day for guests. But, the most amazing thing was breakfast! While we were there, Mary Jane's twin red-haired granddaughters were visiting (picture Lindsay Lohan's character on The Parent Trap), who served us breakfast. The 3-course breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We had fresh fruit and homemade sorbet, followed by stuffed French Toast and sausage, then homemade coffee cake. It was very, very good!

My wife and I stayed there one night before going into Shipshewana to the Flea Market. We wished we had stayed there two nights and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book early if you are planning to stay when the Shipshewana Flea Market is taking place. Her rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night over a weekend on a getaway. We LOVED the grounds of the B&B, they were stunning. Mary Jane was an excellent hostess, so friendly and welcoming. We shared breakfast with the guests and the food and presentation was unparalleled. Our room and bathroom was meticulously clean and we felt as if we were in our own home. Would have loved to extend our trip a few more nights! We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Without question, the best B&B we have ever experienced. Mary Jane makes you feel like cherished family. Her cooking and presentation are unparalleled. The rooms are spectacular, very clean and ultra-comfortable. The gardens are incredible. All this and the ever-present amazing bird watching made us want to stay even longer than our 3 day trip allowed. We are so glad we selected Peaceful Acres for our stay in Shipshewana!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4685 N 900 W, Shipshewana, IN 46565
Location: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Peaceful Acres Hotel Shipshewana
Peaceful Acres b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaceful Acres Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.