We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 East Rampart Road, Shelbyville, IN 46176 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfied.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very Nice rooms. Working swimming pool and working wifi.
Good price. Changed to econolodge.
We will stay again if in the area.
Works out great with kids with a nice breakfast and a working swimming pool.

Room Tip: Good Breakfast and a working swimming pool makes is pleasant with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
7
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Byron, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because the Hampton Inn across the road was full and we had been driving all day and just wanted to stop for the night. The desk clerk was on the phone when we got there and had to wait 5-10 mins. for him to finish his conversation. The hotel itself looked run down and the pool area was closed with paper taped over the doors and windows (possible construction?) First impression was not good but as I said it was Sat. night and after a long day of travel we just wanted to stay somewhere. The room smelled musty. the shower area had what appeared to be black mold on the wall but there was also a black substance on the shower curtain and what appeared to be a black handprint on the wall by the sink so I don't really know what it was. When I pulled down the bedspread the sheet appeared to have some kind of an oily stain on it, although it may have been threadbare I couldn't really tell. I took the sheet to the desk and exchanged it for another one. Had trouble sleeping because of noise from people in the parking lot at some late hour. Short story, unless you are ABSOLUTELY desperate for a room go somewhere else, this place is a disaster.

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Owner is a thief who can hardly even speak English, so it was hard to resolve an issue. My credit card was charged and they made me pay again in cash once I arrived. I was charged twice and the owner wouldn't listen to me explain or pay attention to the proof I was trying to show him. Had to go through hours of trouble dealing with different people just to get refunded. Still waiting on that refund.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked online for the good price, and it turned out very well.....The staff was friendly, and the rooms are kept clean...good wifi signal is always a plus...I plan on staying there every trip to Shelbyville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

staff is friendly.. but property need some work. carpet by pool is nesty... poor food items.. few items for breakfast.. only 4 or 5 itmes..pool is not working... sign on higway says indoor pool .. really ??

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, IN.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a hotel I wouldn't recommend to anyone. We noticed a very strong odor when we first opened the door to check in. A strong perfume smell, trying to cover up something. As soon as we walked past what once had been the pool I knew they were trying to cover up the over-powering smell of cholrine. They had newspaper over the windows and you could see under the door the floor was in pebbles. We had to put a towel against the bottom of our door trying to keep the odor out of our room. The walls were dirty, the chain lock was on a angle, the screen was ripped, there were stains on the recliner. I wouldn't walk on the carpet without my shoes. The corners of the floors were dirty.If it wasn't 28 degrees outside, I think I would rather have slept in my Jeep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was so tired and got to this place after long drive with my family it look nice from out side,, so thought why not give try. i was right.. Great greeting by Frontdesk guy.. i asked him if i can ck room before i rent he said feel free.. lets ck room.. guess what room was clean and neat.. will stay there next time for sure..

Room Tip: ask frontdesk person to let you ck room... it was clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 68 East Rampart Road, Shelbyville, IN 46176 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.