We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 W Rampart St, I-74 at exit 113, Shelbyville, IN 46176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. There was noise from the Interstate as I forgot to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. We were so tired from traveling that the noise didn't keep us awake.

There is an elevator and for guest convenience, luggage carts.

The secured Wifi was quickly and easily connected. There were several breakfast choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear rowdygirl,
Thank your for reviewing our hotel, We are glad you found the rooms not only clean but comfortable as well. We are also happy you enjoyed not only our breakfast but the free wifi as well. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
16
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at the HIE for 2 nights for family wedding. The hotel was sold out and staff did an excellent job of making us feel comfortable. The hotel looked fairly new and was very clean.

I am hearing that there's Salt water in the pool.

The housekeeping staff cleaned our room while we were at the Ceremony at the church. When we returned, all of our rooms were clean.

Nice job HIE!

The breakfast was basic continental breakfast and good enough to get us going.

I wish the shuttle to the the nearby casino ran during the day and not beginning at 650 PM.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are noisy, try to face the back.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Bea0811,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our property and that our staff made you and your family feel at ease durring your stay! I am sorry the hours of our shuttle were limited to your stay, but please know we are constantly working to make our property and the offered amenities go above and beyond. Again on behalf of our staff and hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to give us the good feedback.

Sincerely

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place was fairly new, love the bedding. Front desk lady was friendly and recommended a nice restaurant and even gave us a coupon for a free appetizer! We were road weary and it was the perfect spot. Not a whole lot of fast food or other places, but if you're looking for simple and quiet this is the place. Love their Loyalty program and upgrade. Very happy

Room Tip: Good place to stop to crash
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Caylinsgranny,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs to be a Great Hotel Guests Love. Its awesome to hear that you had a great experience with us! We hope to see you back again soon!!

Sincerely,

Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were given a suite as an upgrade and the room was excellent. The young lady at the front desk on Saturday night, September 7th, was very cordial and accommodating. She gave us advice on where to eat supper which turned out to be very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear GrandpaRick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs to be a Great Hotel Guests Love. We are very happy to hear that our staff did a great job in accommodating you during your stay with us. We hope see you back soon!!

Sincerely,

Holly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I reserved 2 rooms via Hotels.Com for 4 nights.

When we arrived at the hotel after driving for 11.5 hours, we were told they only had one room reserved for us and had no other available rooms.

The hotel blamed Hotels.Com for the mistake and over the next 3 days we heard them tell several other customers the same thing.

When Hotels.Com contacted the hotel to investigate, the hotel told them I used and was charged for both rooms.

I am currently pursuing a refund for the second room that I reserved but did not get to use, via my credit card company.

Aside from that, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable but the noise from the highway was almost unbearable.

Next time, I'll stay at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the highway, for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MadMorf,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We value what our guest have to say. We deeply apologize for the mix up with the thrid party booking company, and the noise level outside your room. Please be aware that this issues are being addressed with the management staff , so we are able to give our guest the value they deserve. We hope you come back and stay with us to receive a better experience.

Sincerely,

Holly Gossett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is nice. I stayed here , because I was going to the Indiana grand Casino. Not bad and the shuttle does pick up here so worked out. the breakfast was less than desirable. I enjoyed the Hampton more and I an a choice member at this chain.

Room Tip: Nothing special here adequate accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear shawn47905,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we decided to spur of the moment go to the casino and so I looked up on priceline and found this for $45 and being 2 1/2 star it was pretty good price. I fell this hotel should be rated higher than 2 1/2. The decorations was current and up to date, the staff very friendly and willing to help us. The breakfast was good and service was excellent. Even tho the elevator was down, time we returned from the casino it was fixed. I would differently stay here again. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and we didn't hear any noise from the hallways! The rooms were very cleaned and maintained. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!! :)

Room Tip: check out priceline for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear luvdeals,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we regret the inconvenience of the elevator being down from time to time. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience beyond the elevator problems. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Holly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis

Address: 38 W Rampart St, I-74 at exit 113, Shelbyville, IN 46176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new hotel in the Shelbyville area. We offer discount rates to local corporations. We are 2 miles from the Indiana downs and the Indiana Live casino. We offer a free hot continental breakfast to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.