We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Batar

Cafe Batar
12649 Hwy 50 East, Seymour, IN 47274
812-522-8617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Seymour
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Seymour, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm 25 years old and I went here with my husband, my mother-in law and younger sister-in law and we all loved the food! It reminded me of my grandmother who passed away years ago but it brought up so many good and precious memories. The dining area is a bright cheerful place and the gardens around are gorgeous to look at while sitting! The cookies they sell are fabulous and are almost too cute to eat! The elderly man's shop in the back was awesome! He has every LIFE magazine displayed and had collected alot of very old and interesting musical instruments! You could just tell how much he loved talking about them all! I plan to go back soon with my husband and plan to tell many people about this adorable little cafe! I only wish they were open more days of the week!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Batar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you Sandra for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit, and are especially happy about the precious memories that we inspired. Please do come back soon - we'd love to serve you, your husband, and any of your friends again in the near future. Our best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

It was such a peaceful and beautiful atmosphere. The food was delicious and the shop was charming also. Everyone was very relaxed and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Batar, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the "lovely" review, Drsallyc. Our goal is to provide an escape, a relaxing environment for all, including the folks that work here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“True gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a must-do if you are anywhere near the area. Ask for a window seat and enjoy the sunny, well-maintained natural gardens while you dine. The bakery section is top notch, with in-house goods that are a truly beautiful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, Lovely, Delightful place to have lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is by far one of the best restaurants I have visited and really enjoyed. The food is great, the service is fantastic and the atmosphere is Breathtaking. I had Chicken Salad and it was wonderful, just right and just enough. The waitress was very sweet and attentive and the price was right. I love the flowers and gardens outside and the inside is decorated so uplifting in color and theme. They have a lovely gift shop with lots of tea pots and other items. I would highly recommend. Just East of Seymour on Hwy 50 towards North Vernon, Indiana.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Batar, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I shared your comments with the whole team here at Batar, and we wanted you to know that we truly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. THANK YOU for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I love Batar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I love the food and gift shop. The staff could be friendlier. The food is always good. I have been here on several occasions with my church group and my friends. The atmosphere is the best thing the place has going for it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Batar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Batar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Batar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.