We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Save
You added Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort to your Saves list
78 N. Holiday Blvd., Santa Claus, IN 47579   |  
Hotel amenities
chandler, in
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Camping trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family took our vacation at Lake Rudolph in first full week of August. Check in was fine. They had someone take us to our site since this was the first time we had been there. When they were showing us to the site, the employee was hard to follow they drove carts way to fast.When we set up our camper the lot was dirty(including undergarments that were not picked up). The lots are all jammed together unless you get a super 30 or corner lot. They are putting large campers in very small sites. Golf carts at night are going way to fast, also had drunk people driving carts and no security. Security would stop someone driving sensibly and let others go. This will be our one and only trip we take to Lake Rudolph

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lake Rudolph.

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. It sounds as if your site was not cleaned prior to your arrival. That's unacceptable and I understand why you were frustrated.

I do have a few additional questions if you do not mind to respond to them via email at laura@lakerudolph.com. Upon reserving were you asked what size your RV was? We determine which sites will accommodate based on asking this upon reservations. Which site were you on? With this additional information, I will pass your comments onto management. Again, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    28
    22
    12
See reviews for
157
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent the weekend with the family in a Christmas Cabin and had a blast. This place is pretty rowdy, so if you are looking for peace & quiet don't go on the weekend. The only complaint I have is much like other reviews - the campground itself is spacious, but the rental lots are right on top of each other. We didn't get to try out the new waterslides because we spent a lot of time @ Holiday World's waterpark. I've read some complaints about the golf carts, but we absolutely loved the golf cart, especially the "glow parade". We had so much fun, we already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family & I spent almost a week in a Christmas Cabin. The cabin was great. We spent several days using the pool. It too was great.

We also throughly enjoyed the new water slides. What a great value they are.

We had a minor maintenance issue with a smoke detector, there was a maintenance man in our cabin within 10 minutes & within 30 minutes, he had replaced the defective smoke detector.

This was our second stay and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: I like to stay close to the pool & water slides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lake Rudolph!

Sorry to hear about the smoke detector issue, but I"m glad that it was fixed promptly. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned today from Lake Rudolph. Campground is WAY overrated. Yes it is conveniently located next to Holiday World, but that is the ONLY reason to stay here. We reserved our 10 day stay months in advance, and arrived only to find they had placed us in a VERY small site that did not fit our camper. There were dozens of cars and golfcarts parked in the street and grass EVERYWHERE, making getting in or out of a spot extremely difficult. After hauling our camper back to the front they advised us that was the ONLY Super 30 site open, and in order to accomodate our camper we would have to accept a downgraded gravel site, and wait for them to refund our credit card. The site we got was at a VERY busy intersection of the campground, and one of my girls was actually struck by a car while riding her bike. There was trash and cigarette butts EVERYWHERE, and our picnic table was about 1foot from our neighbors camper. Very tiny campsites with no wiggle room. Pool was overcrowded and no parking. Normally parking would not be an issue, but we have 4 kids and were about a mile from the pool. Young children drive golfcarts very recklessly and all hours of the night. Unfortunately this was a huge waste of our vacation time and money.....will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Our peak season, which is normally July and August, is a busy time. Our security staff works diligently to enforce our rules regarding traffic and golf cars, especially underage drivers and reckless driving. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience and your daughter was injured. I sincerely hope she sustained no lasting injuries.

I will pass your comments onto our management staff. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our third year renting an RV here. Several times before we tent camped. This is a great location and Holiday World was great, as always. The RV was nasty dirty. It is expensive to stay here, it should at least be somewhat clean. I think the only cleaning that gets done is people cleaning up before they leave. This was a huge let down. Most camp grounds we visit don't have all the golf carts. It's hard to let kids ride bikes and scooters because and just enjoy the out doors because of the carts, which takes away from the campground experience. The twin bed matttresses did not fit in the slot. They were too big which made them uncomfortable. Kids love the campground, the the RV is gross and none of the staff seemed to care enough to do something about it. They just tell you they will register your complaint, much like the response you get on this site. We love Holiday World, not trying to bash the campground, just wanting to give you a fair warning of how nasty it is and the Wifi doesn't work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

Would you please be able to email me with more information regarding your Rental Unit? If you can share what unit you were in and when you checked in, we could work on correcting this issue with that particular staff member. Please email me at laura@lakerudolph.com. I'm very sorry the unit was not clean upon your arrival; that is unacceptable and I do understand your frustration.

It would also help to know which unit so I can have maintenance check the mattresses. They are inspecting units this season for mattresses that need replaced, general wear and tear, etc.

We are working on our WiFi this season and have upgraded our equipment. However, we are still working with the provider to fix connectivity issues and other bugs. Because of that at times it goes up and down. I'm sorry that you were not able to utilize it.

Again, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope to hear from you so we can work on these issues. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

location is wonderful with small town charm. Located next to Holiday world and the park offers a discount. But if your military you get a better discount at the park. The camp ground also has a free pools for babies and a bigger pool for adults. Everything is in walking distance. The fishing pond is loaded with bass and a few other kinds of fish and has paddle boats for more enjoyment. This place is great for kids and we had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here a few years back. This campground was BIG. It was very convenient for us to hop on the shuttle to Holiday World. We had some good discounts and since we stayed there a week, we ended up going over to Holiday World/Splasin' Safari 3 different days during our stay.

They added another huge pool since we were last there. I know Holiday World has added more rides too.

I thought this was a nice place, and we try to find vacation destinations where it's easy for us to hop on shuttles to an amusement park. The campground was also close to/convenient to other area attractions.

Again, this place is really big. I'd recommend taking your bikes if you can. I remember us renting a golf cart here for a day or two. If you're looking to go to Holiday World, this is the place to stay. They had several rental units as well when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Address: 78 N. Holiday Blvd., Santa Claus, IN 47579
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Cabins & Rental RVs, and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's Splash Down WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.