We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the kiddos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa's Lodge
Save
You added Santa's Lodge to your Saves list
91 W. Christmas Blvd., Santa Claus, IN 47579   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok for the kiddos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We purchased a vacation weekend through Groupon, which sounded magical with a stay at Santa's Lodge (including breakfast with Santa), visit to Santa's Candy Castle and tour through lighted campground. While we called shortly after another friend of ours did to reserve the rooms, they were able to get a family suite for the same price that we paid for a standard room, which was very small. We had heard that a family that went the weekend before had a bad dinner, but our dinner and breakfast wasn't bad - we didn't get to eat in the restaurant (I'm assuming because of the large # of people who purchased the Groupon package) but it was a traditional Christmas meal that wasn't bad, and buffet breakfast was the same. The pool was packed with kids, and there was a hot tub, and the hotel is decorated with Christmas stuff, but we were not overly impressed. Santa excited the kids! Rooms need updated and bathroom should have been cleaned better, took awhile to check in, but staff all seemed courteous.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    64
    36
    69
See reviews for
173
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvisa, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a Family Suite and it wasn't too bad. Santa and Mrs. Claus were very nice.
However, the staff was rude and lied to us! We bought a groupon. That included 4 people. I called and was told it would be $21 to to include my 5 year old son in all the activities my other 2 children would be doing. That sounded fair so I agreed. However, when we got there that wasn't the case at all. He wasn't included and when I talked to the hotel they told me the $21 extra was just for him to eat....Really for a 5 year old to eat two buffet meals (that he barely ate). Then we had to pay extra on top of the $21 to let him be included in the other activities. There was no gifts from Santa!!!!!! After we checked in a lady said go around the corner and get a mug.....a plan white mug that says santas lodge..????? Really??? What is a kid going to do with a mug? It could have at least been a Christmas mug...or even an ornament. Heck I would have been happier with a coloring book!!!!! Candy Castle would have been cute if the staff had been nice and happy and had Christmas Spirit. (The Santa there was also nice.) The others (mainly the manager) were grumpy and hateful.

The lights were nice and other then being lied to we enjoyed seeing the other things around the little town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My dad, my brother and I spent the night at this hotel so we could have two days available at Holiday World. We were here because I was part of an annual roller coaster enthusiast event called HoliWood Nights, which were for card carrying coaster enthusiasts only. When we chose a hotel, we chose the one that was the closest to the park.

It's probably the most decked out hotel I've ever spent the night at! The lobby was filled with Christmas and Santa themed decorations, ornaments, and other things of the like. I thought this was pretty interesting and it would have been hard to not take a bunch of photos of it if I wasn't exhausted when I arrived there, and had to rush when I left the next morning!

The rooms were pretty sizable and provided good air conditioning through the night. There are two beds and a television. The bathroom was clean and had two towels and wash towels hanging ready to be used. What I especially liked about our room was the fact that the sink was located outside of the bathroom across from the bathroom door. The beds themselves were comfortable to sleep on and were queen sized.

Unfortunately due to some complications with our budget limits that involved trying not to spend money on another room, and the fact that the hotel didn't have roll-in beds, I had to share a bed with my dad while my brother slept on his own bed. Not a great experience when you wake up on the edge of the bed with a cramp in your left leg because of how you've been trying desperately the night before not to roll off and onto the floor.

This was just a bad experience, and probably the only one. Not really the hotel's fault, but I felt it needed to be told. Other than this, we all liked the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't remember if the hotel did or did not have roll-in beds available, and even if they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We do an annual Sister's trip--and like Christmas themes. We chose Santa's Lodge, driving distance was not too far for us and good shopping. Our rates were not bad--our rooms were very clean, fresh and beds comfortable!! Wireless connects worked great!! We didn't attend Breakfast or dinner with Santa but we did have dinner at the restaurant and found the found to be good. Staff was very cordial--we weren't stressed with little kids--maybe that's why our visit was great!!!

Room Tip: Room back by the B entrance were nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We purchased a groupon for this venue. In the groupon, they painted this wonderful picture of Christmas dinner with Santa, breakfast & cookies & milk. Well, we left before dinner. The room was ok. Not real clean. But not terrible. Most staff wasn't very friendly. Jenna was very helpful, but that was it. We waited in line for over an hour for our "Christmas Dinner" that consisted of hot dogs & BBQ. Buns in bags where people were touching all of them. Disgusting. Then I was promised a refund from the manager Skip Allen, but he would never return any of my calls. I finally talked to the kitchen mgr and he was combative with me about all of these issues. I would definitely not reccommend!!! Stay away from this place!! You could get sick from the food!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Room was the same price that you would expect out of a hyatt, hilton, or marriot... but the quality was the polar opposite of what you would get from those brands. The bed was horribly uncomfortable, I barely slept. The whole place smells stale. The pools were nice, except they were dirty and they don't enforce rules. There were unsupervised children misbehaving and being dangerous the whole time. There was no option for breakfast other than they're overpriced buffet, and there are almost no restaurants or any type of option for food once you're in the area.

My experience is that it's way more worth it to stay a bit further out and just drive to Holiday World the next morning.

Very dissapointed and felt extremely taken advantage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, UT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Santa's Lodge probably has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Helpful and genuinely interested in their guests' comfort. The hotel is nicely located, conveniently close to Holiday World, and the Santa theme fits in well with the community and surroundings. The hot breakfast buffet seemed like a pretty good deal if you are partial to fried, starchy foods, and the biscuits and gravy were delicious.

That said, however, the hotel seriously needs some re-furbishing and updating, inside and out. It was probably clean enough, but the carpets, bedspreads, and other furnishings just have too much age on them and the room just didn't look and smell as "fresh" as we would like. The double queen room was a little on the small side, there was no computer desk, and the wifi connection was slow and unreliable. The bathroom area was tight and crowded and the walls are obviously too thin, as the guy snoring in the room next door made it hard for me to go to sleep.

I would stay here again, but I also hope that the owners/management soon update and freshen up the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lodge

Address: 91 W. Christmas Blvd., Santa Claus, IN 47579
Location: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is a Holiday when you stay at Santa’s Lodge. You’ll be welcomed at Santa’s Lodge with a vaulted lobby soaring 37 feet into the Southern Indiana skyline. The hand-hewn timbers are actually from the barn that stood on this same site in 1883. The beautiful cedar and oak wood creates a natural setting for our antique Christmas decorations including our Canadian horse-drawn sleigh! Our year-round Christmas décor and lodge setting will surround you with a sense of warmth and pleasure through our 170 guestrooms and suites.Located about a half mile away, we are the closest hotel to Holiday World and Splashin' Safari, home to three world class roller coasters and the number 2 water park in the world! We have a putt-putt mini golf course and arcade right across the street at Frosty's Fun Center. Our shelter house is located right next to the playground for a great picnic opportunity. Take time in the morning to relax on our deck overlooking the lake while eating breakfast from St. Nick's Restaurant.Our Family suites allow the parents to have a little privacy while vacationing with the kids in addition to giving you a little leg room to relax and spend quality time together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Hotel Santa Claus
Santas Hotel Santa Claus
Lodge Santas
Santas Santa Claus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.