We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Meinrad Archabbey

Saint Meinrad Archabbey
200 Hill Drive, Saint Meinrad, IN 47577
(812) 357-6515
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“This is a great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

St. Meinrad Archabbey is a wonderful place to visit. The church is beautiful inside and out. The monks have daily Mass and daily prayer in the church. The scenic southern Indiana hills are a perfect backdrop to this quiet getaway.

St. Meinrad is numerous retreats throughout the year; the guest house is new and comfortable.

The gift shop at the bottom of the hill has lots of great Catholic books, jewelry, candles, and much more.

A great place for individuals, couples, families and friends to spend time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spirituality in Southern Indiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We attended a worship of the hours. We ate with the monks. We attended a play at the monastery. Many visiting priests come here for their sabbaticals. We were invited to the "Unstable" which is an old stable that has been converted into something that resembles a pub. We ate pizza and had intellectual conversations-That was great! The monastery is located in among the trees and it is a very pretty place. They offer retreats; we have always planned to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture, History and Spirituality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The buildings are beautiful. We did not have time to tour the Archabbey but we did visit 2 shrines and the gift shop. We will be back. Mount Cassino Shrine is a must visit. It is a beautiful little chapel in a serene setting. St Joseph Shrine is a beautiful grotto made with colorful sandstone form the Abbey's quarry and had large wood carving of St. Joseph.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting grounds and gift shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a portion of the gift shop where you can purchase a handmade wood casket. The worksmanship is wonderful - very moderately priced also. Bakery makes wonderful breads and such, and the rest of the gift shop will have something for everyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Being with Creator Spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a wonderous place to simply be. Quiet, reflective, contemplative, full of nature and you are surrounded by evidence of creative spirit everywhere you go. The stained glass windows, inside the archabbey are spectacular! Very intricate and full of color they tell they story of St. Benedict.The huge organ is a sight unto itself. MASSIVE keys span nearly the width of the church. the bells ring and sound almost mystical. There is a snack bar and gift shop. Most areas, that I saw, had w/c access. There is a retreat house and the schedule for 2013 is inside the information area. There are restrooms. St. Meinrad also has the catalog "Abbey Press". The small surrounding town has some interesting small shops and local food. The countryside is beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Meinrad Archabbey also viewed

 

Been to Saint Meinrad Archabbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Meinrad Archabbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.